It Project Management Assessment

Only available on StudyMode
  • Download(s) : 177
  • Published : February 17, 2013
Open Document
Text Preview

IT Project Management Assessment
Samii-Yumchin Enkhjargal
Strayer University
IT Project Management - CIS 517
Dr. Johnnie E.Drake

Over the past few years, project managers and project management has grown tremendous growth. Project management has evolved over the past several years from an activity in an organization to a discipline in its own right. Many professional bodies exist today to represent project management as a discipline, some of which include, PMI and PM Bok.

According to A Guide to the Project Management Body of knowledge (PMBOK Guide), Third Edition, “Project Management is the application of knowledge, skill, tools, and techniques to a broad range of activities in order to meet the requirements of a particular project. Project management is comprised of five basic Project Management Process groups and nine knowledge areas that are typical of almost all projects. The five process groups are Initiating, Planning, Executing, Monitoring and Controlling and Closing process. The nine Knowledge areas center on management expertise in Project Integration Management, Project Scope Management, Project Time Management, Project Cost Management, Project Quality Management, Project Human Resource Management, Project Communications Management, Project Risk Management, and Project Procurement Management.

Each of the nine knowledge areas contains the processes that need to be accomplished within its discipline in order to achieve an effective project management program. Each of these processes also falls into one of the five basic process groups, creating a matrix structure such that every process can be related to one knowledge area and one process group. The PMBOK Guide is meant to offer a general guide to manage most projects most of the time. There are currently two extensions to the PMBOK Guide: The Construction Extension to...
tracking img