Seven Orginazational Approaches

Only available on StudyMode
  • Topic: Anatomy, Abdomen, Anatomical terms of location
  • Pages : 2 (674 words )
  • Download(s) : 13
  • Published : May 20, 2013
Open Document
Text Preview
Seven Organizational Approaches
There are seven organizational approaches to study the human body which are body planes and body directions, body cavities, quadrants and regions, anatomy and physiology, microscopic to macroscopic, body systems and medical specialties. Each approach can provide a specific point of view and provides unique information by dividing or organizing the body in a logical way (Turley, 2011).

There are three main body planes: the coronal or frontal plane, the sagittal plane and the transverse plane which divide the body into front and back, right and left and top and bottom. The direction of the body is movement away from or toward these planes (Turley, 2011). The coronal plane divides the body into front and back sections which the coronal plane is named from the coronal suture in the cranium (Turley, 2011). The sagittal plane divides the body into right and left sections which the sagittal plane is named from the sagittal suture in the cranium (Turley, 2011). The last plane is the transverse plane which is a horizontal plane that divides the body into superior and inferior sections (Turley, 2011). These types of approaches can be used while taking magnetic resonance imaging of the body to detect is something is wrong.

The human body has five cavities the cranial, spinal, thoracic, abdominal and pelvic cavities. The cranial cavity surrounds and holds the brain. The spinal cavity is a continuation of the cranial cavity and travels down the midline back. The thoracic cavity is surrounded by the ribs and chest muscles above the diaphragm and abdominopelvic cavity ("Health Pages", n.d.). The abdominal cavity is within the abdomen and the pelvic cavity is a continuation of the abdominal cavity.

There are four quadrants: the right upped quadrant (RUQ), the right lower quadrant (RLQ), the left upped quadrant (LUQ) and the left lower quadrant (LLQ). The RUQ is the right lobe of the liver, gallbladder, and part of the transverse colon,...
tracking img