Reflect Upon Your Own Life in Terms of the Erikson's 8 Stages of Psychosocial Development and Write About What Was Your Experience Like Handling Each of the Eight Developmental Tasks/Conflicts.

Topics: Erikson's stages of psychosocial development, Erik Erikson, Developmental psychology Pages: 9 (3311 words) Published: January 23, 2011
Question :

In Erkson’s view, everyone experiences eight crises or conflicts in development. During each of the eight stages of personality development, a specific developmental task or conflict will be more significant than any other.

Please reflect upon your own life in terms of the Erikson’s 8 stages of Psychosocial Development and write about what was your experience like handling each of the eight developmental tasks/conflicts (where applicable).

Erikson’s Psycho-Social Development

Erik Erikson theory consists of 8 stages of developmental stages; each stage contains different societal/environmental expectations. A “stepping’ process with each stage building on the strengths of the precious stage. It is primarily concerned with how personality and behavior is influenced after birth especially during childhood.

Each of Erikson’s stages involves a crisis, with some balance of either a successful/positive or an unsuccessful/negative resolution. Stages are built on one another cumulatively. The negative or unsuccessful resolution of one stage may lead to conflicts in later stages, making these more difficult to resolve in a positive manner. However, a more negative resolution resolution of a stage may be modified by experiences later in life.

Erikson’s theory of psychological development may be proved through my personal experience. Erikson’s stages of development can be seen through most individuals.

Stage 1 Trust vs. MistrustInfancy (Age: 0-1)

The first stage Erikson describes is “Trust vs. Mistrust.” The statement present throughout this stage is “I am what I’m given.” This stage lasts usually from birth to 18 months and deals with the needs being met as an infant. If an infant’s needs (including those for food, physical comfort, and emotional contact) are met in a warm and consistent manner, you develop a sense of trust in others and your environment; you become an optimist. If your needs are not met you may experience mistrust, and become negative and assume the worst of others.

I think that as an infant, my needs for food and physical comfort were easily met but emotional contact may be lacking. This is because I was very gullible at first but when things happened, negative thoughts come into my minds before positive thought.

Stage 2 Autonomy vs. Shame and DoubtToddler hood (Age: 1-3)

Erikson’s second stage is “Autonomy vs. Doubt.” “I am what I will” is usually the statement associated with this step. At age 18 months to 3 years, toddlers begin to realize that they have their own will and self-control. The toddler is developing control over many physical skills including walking and toilet training. The toddler experience autonomy or doubt based on the fact if their parents supported their goals and independence and believed in them. If parents did not support the toddler, or made her doubt herself, she may experience a sense of shame and doubt her independent actions. In addition, if proper assistance, guidance, and support are not provided by the caregiver, and the toddler then feels vulnerable or insecure in times of need, a sense of doubt will develop.

I think I have the autonomy as I feel secure.

Stage 3 Initiative vs. GuiltPreschool (Age: 3-6)

The third stage is “Initiative Vs Guilt”. ”Am I good or am I bad?” Children are often asked to take on responsibility for themselves, their behaviors, and their possessions. If a child accomplishes these responsibilities and are praised for them, a sense of initiative will be established. If a child is made to feel irresponsible through responses from a caregiver or makes many mistakes including harming objects or other individuals, a sense of guilt will be the result.

As for myself, I think the sense of guilt had developed in me as I always tried to prevent things from happening until today. All these could lead to the 2 incidents that had happened during the age of 5 to 6. On the first incident, I was given a...
Continue Reading

Please join StudyMode to read the full document

You May Also Find These Documents Helpful

  • Erikson's Stages of Psychosocial Development Essay
  • Erikson’s Stages of Psychosocial Development Essay
  • Erikson's Eight Stages of Development Essay
  • Erikson's Fifth Stage of Psychosocial Development Essay
  • Erik Erikson's Eight Developmental Stages Essay
  • Erikson's Eight Stages of Development Essay
  • Erik Erikson's Theory of Psychosocial Development: The Eight Steps Essay
  • Erikson's Eight Stages of Development Essay

Become a StudyMode Member

Sign Up - It's Free