Iligan City

Topics: Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo, Iligan City, Lanao del Norte Pages: 2 (379 words) Published: March 16, 2013

Iligan City is a highly urbanized city and is independent from the Province of Lanao del Norte. Registered voters of the city no longer vote for provincial candidates such as the Governor and Vice Governor unlike its nearby towns that make up the provinces as a result to its charter as a city in the 1950s. Iligan City's seat of government, the city hall, is located at Buhanginan Hills in Barangay Pala-o. The government structure compose of one mayor, one vice-mayor and twelve councilors. Each official is elected publicly to a 3-year term and can be re-elected up to 3 terms in succession. The day to day administration of the city is handled by the city administrator. REPUBLIC ACT No. 9724, an Act separating the City of Iligan from the First Legislative District of the Province of Lanao del Norte was approved by Pres. Gloria Macapagal Arroyo last October 20, 2009.

A beautiful and dynamic agri-industrial and disaster-prepared metropolitan city where God-loving, healthy and culturally diverse people excel globally, are governed with transparency, live in harmony with nature and resilient to climate variability. Mission

• To make Iligan City a pleasant place to live in by conserving and developing its resources and making it clean, orderly and environmentally friendly. • To develop Iligan City into a balanced agro-industrial and commercial community by providing equitable opportunities for profitable private sector entrepreneurship and promoting all modes of free enterprise. • To advance social equity anchored on mutual respect for cultural, religious and ideological diversities. • To provide an adequate infrastructure and socio-cultural facilities. 22 City Departments

1. City Mayor's Office
2. Sangguniang Panlungsod
3. City Administrator's Office
4. City Treasurer's Office
5. City Budget Office
6. City Assessor's Office
7. City General Services Office
8. City Agriculturist's Office
Continue Reading

Please join StudyMode to read the full document

You May Also Find These Documents Helpful

  • Essay on “the Social Impact on the People of Purok Abestilla and Purok Bagong Lipunan, Mahayahay, Iligan City After the 2011 Fire...
  • Cities Essay
  • What is a city? Essay
  • Citys Essay
  • Smart cities Essay
  • Essay on City Improvement
  • The future of the city Essay
  • City and CountrySide Essay

Become a StudyMode Member

Sign Up - It's Free