Good Essays
Rosin Hamill

CU 2936


The sequence of children’s development for each age is divided into five different aspects: Physical, Social, Emotional and behavioral Communication and language, Intellectual and cognitive.


0 – 3 Years

Physical development at this stage is usually very rapid. At birth babies depend on reflexes for movements to enable them feed or grasp whenever they touch something. By age one, they have much more control over their bodies. They are beginning to crawl, pulling or pushing on things to stand etc.

Between 1 and 2 years walking will begin and toys will be pulled or pushed along whilst walking.

They enjoy trying to feed themselves with finger foods. Waving goodbye becomes fun they will begin to point to what they want and shake their head to mean ‘no’.

Between the ages of 2 and 3 mark making on paper will progress to scribbles as they begin to use pencils etc. Balls start to be kicked and thrown. Bricks will be built into larger towers than before, and they will start to experiment with liquids in play by pouring.

3 – 7 Years

At 3 years children begin to gain more independence. Their mobility and climbing skills will be advancing as they run, jump, catch, walk up and down stairs etc. fine motor skills increases with small objects like puzzles, threading beads etc. Dressing and undressing will be assisted.
They will be developing their gross and fine motor skills: Running, Jumping, Catching, throwing and aiming, building, climbing, pedaling, use of scissors, holding a pencil to draw and colour threading small beads sewing stitches etc.

They will have more pencil control and will begin to copy letters and shapes, and draw people.
Ball games will develop more structure as they begin to kick with aim. They will begin to learn to hop on one foot, then the other and also to skip.
They are able to dress themselves up, do and undo buttons and zips etc. Writing

You May Also Find These Documents Helpful