A short note on Recycle bin.
Recycle bin is an icon on the Windows desktop that represents a directory where deleted files are temporarily stored. This enables you to retrieve files that you may have accidentally deleted. From time to time, you'll want to purge the recycle bin to free up space on your hard disk. You can also configure Windows so that it doesn't use the recycle bin at all, but then you won't be able to retrieve accidentally deleted files.
Items in the Recycle Bin remain there until you decide to permanently delete them from your computer. These items still take up hard disk space and can be undeleted or restored back to their original location. When it fills up, Windows automatically cleans out enough space in the Recycle Bin to accommodate the most recently deleted files and folders.
The recycle bin is modeled after the Macintosh trash can, which has been part of the Mac GUI since its inception.
In the Microsoft Windows operating systems, the Recycle Bin is a holding area for files and folders that are held before final deletion from a storage device.
Microsoft introduced the Recycle Bin in the Windows 95 operating system. The Recycle Bin keeps some files that have been deleted, whether accidentally or intentionally. Whether a deleted file is put into the Recycle Bin depends on how it is deleted; typically only files deleted via the Explorer graphical interface (but not necessarily other Windows graphical interfaces such as file selection dialogs) will be put into the Recycle Bin; files deleted via the Command Prompt, or via operating system APIs are not. Users can review the contents of the Recycle Bin before deleting the items permanently. In previous Windows operating systems and in MS-DOS, undeletion was the only way to recover accidentally deleted files. The Recycle Bin holds data that not only lists deleted files, but also the date, time and the path of those files. The Recycle Bin is opened like an ordinary Windows Explorer folder and the files are viewed similarly. Deleted files may be removed from the Recycle Bin by restoring them with a command, or by deleting them permanently.
The Recycle Bin's icon indicates whether there are items in the Recycle Bin. If there are no files or folders in the Recycle Bin, then the icon resembles an empty wastepaper basket. Otherwise if there are files and/or folders the icon resembles a full wastepaper basket.
Prior to Windows Vista, the default configuration of the Recycle Bin was to hold 10% of the total capacity of the host hard disk drive. For example, on a hard drive with a capacity of 20 gigabytes, the Recycle Bin will hold up to 2 gigabytes. If the Recycle Bin fills up to maximum capacity, the oldest files will be deleted in order to accommodate the newly deleted files. If a file is too large for the Recycle Bin, the user will be prompted to permanently delete the file instead. A deleted item that is larger than the storage capacity of the Recycle Bin will not be saved. It will be permanently deleted.
The maximum possible size of the Recycle Bin is 3.99 gigabytes in all versions of Windows except Vista. In Vista, the maximum is 10% for drives up to 40GB. Above that, the maximum is 4GB plus 5% of the capacity above 40GB. If you're running low on hard disk space, always remember to empty the Recycle Bin.
Windows allocates one Recycle Bin for each partition or hard disk. If your hard disk is partitioned, or if you have more than one hard disk in your computer, you can specify a different size for each Recycle Bin.
To change the storage capacity of the Recycle Bin
On the desktop, right-click Recycle Bin, and then click Properties. 2.
Move the slider to increase or decrease the amount of disk space that is reserved for storing deleted items. Physical storage locations
The actual location of the Recycle Bin varies depending on the operating system and file system. On the older FAT file systems (typically...
Please join StudyMode to read the full document