Political News

Only available on StudyMode
  • Download(s): 118
  • Published: January 11, 2013
Read full document
Text Preview
(1) Introduction BJP
BharatiyaJanata Party
Chairperson| Nitin Gadkari|
Parliamentary Chairperson| Nitin Gadkari|
Leader in Lok Sabha| Sushma Swaraj
(Leader of Opposition)|
Leader in Rajya Sabha| Arun Jaitley
(Leader of Opposition)|
Founded| 6 April 1980|
Preceded by| Bharatiya Jana Singh|
Headquarters| 11 Ashoka Road,
New Delhi, 110001|
Newspaper| Kamal Sandesh|
Youth wing| Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha|
Women's wing| BJP Mahila Morcha|
Peasant's wing| Bharatiya Kisan Sangh|
Ideology| Gandhi an socialism
Indian Nationalism
Integral humanism
Social conservatism[1]Internal factions:
 • Economic liberalism
 • Fiscal conservatism|
Political position| Centre-right to Right wing[2][3][4]|
International affiliation| None|
Colors| Saffron  |
ECI Status| National Party|
Alliance| National Democratic Alliance (NDA)|
Seats in Lok Sabha| 115 / 545|
Seats in Rajya Sabha| 49 / 245|
Election symbol|

The BharatiyaJanata Party (Hindi: भारतीयजनतापार्टी; pronunciation; translation: Indian People's Party; often abbreviated as BJP) is one of the two major political parties in India, the other being the Indian National Congress. Established in 1980, it is India's second largest political party in terms of representation in the parliament and in the various state assemblies. The Bharatiya Janata Party advocates Hindu nationalism and social conservatism, self-reliance, social justice, foreign policy driven by a nationalist agenda, a strong national defense and a more economically liberal fiscal policy to that of the democratic socialist Indian National Congress, although the party manifesto strongly supports the welfare state and some aspects of Green politics.[5] The party's platform is generally considered to the right of the Indian political spectrum.[6] The BJP headed the national government along with a coalition of parties of the...
tracking img