Organizational Structure and Authority

Only available on StudyMode
  • Topic: Washington University in St. Louis, Radionuclide, Gamma ray
  • Pages : 3 (560 words )
  • Download(s) : 398
  • Published : March 27, 2012
Open Document
Text Preview




The organization of the Radiation Safety Program for NRC License No. 24-0167-11 is shown in Figure 1-1, Radiation Safety Organization. Use of all radioactive materials at Washington University and Washington University Medical Center (WU/WUMC) is governed by Executive Management, the Radiation Safety Officer and two safety committees: 1. The Radiation Safety Committee (RSC) has authority over all uses of radioactive materials at WU/WUMC except for the review of human research involving radioactive drugs. The current membership is given in the RSC Membership table. 2. The Radioactive Drug Research Committee (RDRC) has authority over human research involving radioactive drugs. Current RDRC membership and contact information is given in the RDRC Membership table. In addition, the Radiation Safety Committee (RSC) has two active subcommittees that address specific issues. 1. The RSC Applications Subcommittee is scheduled to meet each week to review applications submitted by research faculty. The current membership is given in the Applications Subcommittee Membership table. 2. The RSC Positron-Emitting Radionuclides and Cyclotron Safety Subcommittee (PERCS Subcommittee) meets several times a year to review safety issues associated with the use of particle accelerators used for the on-site production of radioactive materials, and the use of positron-emitting radionuclides. The current membership is given in the PERCS Subcommittee Membership table. 1.2 RADIATION SAFETY OFFICER The Radiation Safety Officer (RSO) is Susan M. Langhorst, Ph.D., CHP Phone: 362−2988 Email: The RSO is appointed by the Chancellor of the University and serves as Executive Secretary of the Radiation Safety Committee (RSC) and as a member of the Radioactive Drug Research Committee (RDRC). The RSO serves as director of the Radiation Safety Office, a division of the WU...
tracking img