Major Pakistan Political Parties

Only available on StudyMode
  • Topic: Pakistan, Benazir Bhutto, Nawaz Sharif
  • Pages : 2 (427 words )
  • Download(s) : 181
  • Published : May 17, 2013
Open Document
Text Preview
Top Political Parties in Pakistan
Pakistan People’s Party Parliamentarians
The Pakistan People’s Party was founded in 1967 by Zulfikar Ali Bhutto, who was its first chairman and afterwards also became the Prime Minister of Pakistan.  The PPP at present holds 126 seats in the National Assembly and 27 seats in the Senate. Pakistan Muslim League (N)

It is the second biggest party in Parliament. It is a much conventional party that has been led by former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif. With the assistance and support of Hameed Gul, it won the election in 1990. Presently it has 90 seats in the National Assembly and 7 seats in the Senate. Pakistan Muslim League (Q)

This party is officially called the Pakistan Muslim League Quaid e Azam. It was a great supporter of former President Pervez Musharraf. PML (Q) is a one of the centrist conservative party that builds up the opposition. It is the 3rd major party after PPP and PML(N) in parliament and presently having 53 seats in the National Assembly and 21 seats in the Senate Muttahida Qaumi Movement

This party is renowned for holding huge mobilizing strength in province of Sindh. The All Pakistan Muhajir Student Organization (APMSO), was established in 1978 by Altaf Hussain which afterwards became the cause of establishing Muhajir Quami Movement in 1984. The association maintains broadminded and progressive stances on numerous political and social issues. In 1997, the MQM officially detached the term Muhajir from its name, and replaced it with Muttahida (“United”).At present it is holding fourth highest number of seats in the National Assembly whereas standing at second position in the Sindh Assembly. Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf was established by Imran Khan Niazi on April 25th, 1996 in Lahore. Moreover the constitution of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf was accepted on January 24th, 1999 by the CEC . One of the most active part is Insaf Student Federation, which  is the official student wing of...