Judicial System of California

Only available on StudyMode
  • Download(s) : 77
  • Published : March 19, 2013
Open Document
Text Preview

Judicial System of California
Week 2 Assignment
Jesse Self
March 15, 2013
DeVry university, online

Overview of the California Judicial System
The three main court systems in California include Supreme Courts, Courts of Appeal, and Superior/Trial Courts. The majority of court cases in California begin in superior court, which are located within all 58 counties of the state. There are facilities located in more than 450 locations, and these courts hear both criminal and civil cases, as well as cases involving family, probate, and juvenile. If cases are not settled within the Supreme Court, the case is brought to the Court of Appeals. Cases that are brought to the Courts of Appeal must first be reviewed and decided by superior courts and contested by a party to the case. If the case brought to the Court of Appeals still goes unresolved, the matter is then brought to the Supreme Court. The Supreme Court is designed to answer and resolve questions and issues that went unsettled in the Court of Appeals. Supreme Courts

In California, the Supreme Court is the highest court, and its decisions are binding on all other courts. Regular sessions are conducted in San Francisco, Sacramento, and Los Angeles. The Governor appoints one Chief Justice and six associate justices, and is confirmed by the Commission on Judicial Appointments. The public confirms the appointments at the next general election. During this time, after their twelve-year-terms, justices also become voters. In order to be a member of the Supreme Court, a person must be an attorney or have served as a judge in the state of California for ten years prior to the appointment. Any party that contests a decision made by a court of appeal must serve a petition for review after the decision made by the Court of Appeal becomes final. If a case gets denied through the Supreme Court, the decision made by...
tracking img