Compare and Contrast the Greek, Confucian, and Hindu Ethical Systems.

Topics: Ethics, Morality, Virtue Pages: 2 (449 words) Published: April 8, 2013
Having an ethical system is having a basic moral understanding of what is right and wrong the Greeks had a diverse ethical system along with the Confucians and the Hindu. Each can compare to each other in a way, but they systems also contrast with each other in different ways making the ethical systems diverse.

Greece had one of the first ethical systems in the ancient world, the main ethical belief in ancient Greece was Arete which the greeks viewed as the act of living up to one’s full potential. The Greeks also believed hybris, the act of trying to go beyond one’s possibilities. Many of the great scholars of Greece followed the ethical systems such as Socrates, Plato, Aristotle, and Heraclitus who thought that injustice appears only in the eyes of man.

Created by Confucius, the Confucian ethical system there are thought to be six different basics known as xi, zhi, li, yi, wen, and ren. Xi is, ‘the original good, evil or nothing’ that man is born with. In Confucianism, xi does not contain any original goodness or badness because of this Confucius believes that people must learn to act ethically since it is not an original part of their nature. Zhi is the natural substance of which a person is made, but it is not naturally received, people is acquire zhi through education.There is an inference that an individual acquiring li has a sense of fairness or equity. Li not only shapes character, but motivates the individual to behave. Yi is the standard by which all acts must be judged, yi represents mortally. Wen is something that one does for fun, such as music, poetry, and art. Ren is considered the highest virtue in Confucianism, a person who acquires ren is mastering the way of virtue, morality, compassion and love. This person is reaching the highest levels of moral perfection in a specific aspect of life.

In the Hindu ethical system there are three documents, called the Upanishads, Bhagavad-Gita, and the Barhma...
Continue Reading

Please join StudyMode to read the full document

You May Also Find These Documents Helpful

  • Compare and Contrast two ethical theories. Essay
  • Essay about Compare and Contrast of Ethical Philosophies
  • Compare and Contrast Essay
  • Compare and contrast essay ap3
  • Compare and Contrast Essay
  • Compare/Contrast Greek and Roman Cultures Essay
  • Compare and Contrast Responsible vs. Compliant or Ethical Essay
  • Ethical System Essay

Become a StudyMode Member

Sign Up - It's Free