Bloom's Taxonomy of Learning Domains

Only available on StudyMode
  • Download(s) : 153
  • Published : May 14, 2012
Open Document
Text Preview
I chose to discuss Bloom’s Taxonomy of Learning Domains because I found his theories interesting and I learned some things I wasn’t aware of before. Benjamin Bloom developed, in 1956 while working at the University of Chicago, his theory on Educational Objectives. He proposed 3 domains or areas: Cognitive - person's ability to process and utilize information (thinking), this is what Bloom's Digital Taxonomy is based on: Affective - This is the role of feeling and attitudes in the learning/education process. Psychomotor – represents physical skills. Before you can understand a concept or fact you must remember it. To apply a concept you must understand it first. To evaluate a process you must analyze it. Each layer builds on the previous and the creative process naturally incorporates these elements. I find that I basically use these domains in some form or another and it occurs mostly every day. I believe I use the affective domain more than rest. I have to remember that my emotions and/or attitudes affect everything I do but as long as it’s not negative it is very affective. I try to empathize in all situations. My friend’s daughter stole a pack of gum from the store. I didn’t realize it until we were pulling out of the parking lot. I took a deep breath and kept myself calm. I asked her why she would steal when she could have asked me to buy it for her. She said everyone tells her no. I hugged her and told her even though she might get turned down she needs to ask for something that doesn’t belong to her and if they say no then put it back. I gave her a dollar and we went back into the store where she apologized and paid for her gum.
tracking img