Lesson Plan Pattern

Only available on StudyMode
  • Download(s) : 74
  • Published : January 13, 2013
Open Document
Text Preview
Guyana, officially called the Cooperative Republic of Guyana, is a country located on the northern coast of South America. It was previously known as British Guiana and it is a former colony of the Dutch and British. Guyana is the third smallest country on South America and it is one of eight nations that is non-Spanish speaking as English is its official language. In addition, Guyana is considered a part of the Anglophone Caribbean - the independent English-speaking Caribbean region. * Kaieteur Falls is a high-volume waterfall on the Potaro River in central Guyana, Potaro-Siparuni region. It is located in Kaieteur National Park. It is 226 meters (741 ft) high when measured from its plunge over a sandstone and conglomerate cliff to the first break. It then flows over a series of steep cascades that, when included in the measurements, bring the total height to 251 meters (822 ft). While many falls have greater height, few have the combination of height and water volume. This has given Kaieteur Falls the misleading label of "largest single drop" waterfall in the world which is often misinterpreted as "tallest single drop." However, it is likely one of the most powerful waterfalls in the world. * Devil's Island (French: île du Diable) is the third largest island of the Îles du Salut island group in the Atlantic Ocean. It is located approximately 14 km (9 mi) off the coast of French Guiana in South America just north of the town of Kourou. It has an area of 14 ha (34.6 acres). The island was a part of the controversial French penal colony of French Guiana for 101 years, from 1852 to 1953, but in spite of its being the smallest part of the penal colony, it is the most famous due to its use for the internal exile of political prisoners.[1] The most famous political prisoner on Devil's Island was Captain Alfred Dreyfus.English speakers have come to use the island's name to refer to the entire former prison system of French Guyana; however, French speakers refer to it as the Bagne de Cayenne (Cayennes penal colony).

Paraguay (US /pɛərəɡwaɪ/, UK /pærəɡwaɪ/), officially the Republic of Paraguay (Spanish: República del Paraguay [reˈpuβlika ðel paɾaˈɣwaj], Guaraní: Tetã Paraguái [teˈtã paɾaˈɣwaj]), is a landlocked country in South America bordered by Argentina to the south and southwest, Brazil to the east and northeast, and Bolivia to the northwest. Paraguay lies on both banks of the Paraguay River, which runs through the center of the country from north to south. Due to its central location in South America, it is sometimes referred to as Corazón de América, or the Heart of America. * Nuestra Señora Santa María de la Asunción (Spanish pronunciation: [asunˈsjon], Guarani: Paraguay) is thecapital and largest city of Paraguay.The Ciudad de Asunción is an autonomous capital district not part of any department. The metropolitan area, called Gran Asunción, includes the cities of San Lorenzo, Fernando de la Mora, Lambaré, Luque, Mariano Roque Alonso, Ñemby, San Antonio, Limpio, Capiatá and Villa Elisa, which are part of the Central Department. The Asunción metropolitan area has more than 2 million inhabitants. The Municipality of Asunción is listed on the Asunción Stock Exchange, as BVPASA: MUA, a unique feature of any city.It is the home of the national government, principal port, and the chief industrial and cultural centre of the country. * Encarnacion is not a great destination if you consider the city itself, but the nearby Jesuit missions of La Santisima Trinidad de Parana and Jesus de Tavarangue are World Heritage Site are well worth visiting. While the ruins are not very extensive, they are absolutely beautiful. The missions date back to the early 17th century, and they are some of the most important religious creations of the Jesuits not only in Paraguay, but the whole of South America. * Iguaçu Falls One of the greatest natural wonders of the world, Iguaçu Falls are shared...
tracking img