Total Variable cost1.4= Total Cost of Material+ Cost of Labor1.2 +Overhead Expenses for the
Materials used for Production of Hair oil. (Ref Page: 51, Statement of Material Consumed: Raw Material Consumed + Packing Material Consumed.) Raw material consumption
Light liquid paraffin
packaging material – VC
Labor Charges from the Wages and Salary Expense: 2657110000 Ref Page: 52, Employee benefit expense: Salaries & Wages) Therefore Total Labor Charges to include is 0.2*2657110000 = 531422000 Assumption: 20 percent of this salary goes in Direct Labor, or company attributes around 20% of its Labor Cost to this product.
Overhead Expense = 87600000 (Ref Page: 52, Other Expenses: “General & Administrative Expenses”). 1.4
Total Variable Costs = 1.1 +1.2+1.3 = 2,556,820,000
Total Number of Liters Manufactured: 15486670 (Ref: Page 51, Details of Production, Stock and Turnover: Manufactured goods: Hair Oil) 1.6
Therefore, per Liter Variable Costs = Total variable cost1.4 / Total number of Units1.5 = 165.09811
Selling Price, per unit Liter = Total Sales of Hair Oil (INR)/ Total number of Liters Sold For Total Sales, and units sold: (Ref: Page 51, Details of Production, Stock and Turnover: Manufactured goods: Hair Oil:Sales) Selling Price, per unit Liter= 338.55289
Contribution Margin per unit Liters = Selling Price per unit1.7 – Variable Costs per unit 1.6 = 173.45 1.9
Assuming that the average cost is almost constant for all the SKUs we get an approximation of the cost, selling price of the product and the per unit contribution. There for a 300 ML bottle, for which we have the offer the contribution shall be: (300/1000)*Contribution Margin per unit Liters1.8 = INR 52.04 1.91
Cost of the Pantene shampoo offered...
Please join StudyMode to read the full document