The Seven Sacraments

Topics: Holy Orders, Jesus, Christianity Pages: 2 (486 words) Published: November 7, 2012
The Seven Sacraments
There are seven sacraments in the church: Baptism, Confirmation, Eucharist, Reconciliation, Anointing of the Sick, Holy Orders, and Matrimony. The sacraments are symbols or signs. Signs can be defined as anything that points to something else and symbols can be defined as special signs that convey deep meanings. The deeper meaning of symbols, like sacraments, calls both conscious and unconscious feelings and thoughts. Baptism, Confirmation and The Eucharist are all sacraments of initiation through which the person becomes a full member of the church. Reconciliation and Anointing of the Sick are sacraments of healing. They are concerned with receiving forgiveness, strength and healing. Marriage and Holy Orders are sacraments of ministry, ways in which we are called by God. Baptism is the first sacrament of initiation. Initiation means bringing into membership of or learning to belong. In baptism, the person becomes a Christian, by receiving the new life of God within them and beginning their journey of faith. Baptism means immersed in water. The second sacrament of initiation is Confirmation. Confirm means to strengthen/make clear what has already been agreed. Through the sacrament of confirmation, you receive the gift of the Holy Spirit. The third sacrament of initiation is Eucharist, which consists of celebrating communion or the Last Supper. There are only two sacraments of healing: Reconciliation and Anointing of the Sick. The Sacrament of Reconciliation is that moment of grace where one receives the forgiveness for sin by Jesus Christ on the cross. Those who approach the sacrament of Reconciliation receive God's mercy for the offense committed against Him, and are, at the same time, reconciled with the church which they have wounded with their sins. The Anointing of the Sick is the second of the two healing sacraments. This sacrament is a powerful and effective sign of Jesus' presence that brings...
Continue Reading

Please join StudyMode to read the full document

You May Also Find These Documents Helpful

  • the seven sacraments Essay
  • Essay on The Seven Catholic Sacraments
  • Essay on The 7 Sacraments
  • CCRS Sacraments Essay
  • 7 SACRAMENTS Essay
  • Sacrament of Marriage Essay
  • The Use of Oils in Sacraments Essay
  • Essay about The Sacrament of Baptism

Become a StudyMode Member

Sign Up - It's Free