The Lovely Bones Theme

Only available on StudyMode
  • Download(s) : 151
  • Published : December 16, 2012
Open Document
Text Preview
Sendi Taranis
Mrs. Zaffareese
Independent reading essay- The Lovely Bones

Loss of a loved one and the stages of mourning or grief manifest as overriding themes in The Lovely Bones. People react differently when the tragedy of death strikes and especially when the death is a gruesome one like murder. The author wants us to know that facing this overwhelming sense of loss is a long process for most and even longer for others. In the end, Susie and her family experience the final stage of the grieving process: acceptance and a stabilized, new lifestyle. The theme of grief is the most obvious message Alice Sebold uses in her novel. Through the voice of Susie Salmon, the fourteen-year-old narrator of the novel, readers get an in-depth look at the grieving process. Susie focuses more on the aftermath and effects of her murder and rape on her family rather than on the event itself. She watches her parents and sister move through the five stages of grief: denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance. However, Alice Sebold makes clear that these categories do not necessarily remain rigid and that individuals deal with grief in various ways. For example, Abigail, Susie's mother, withdraws from her living children, Lindsey and Buckley, whereas Jack, her husband, draws closer to them. Lindsey, Susie's sister, vacillates between denial and acceptance, sometimes exhibiting both elements simultaneously. In addition, Sebold expands the definitions of both loss and grief by including Susie herself in the process. If readers limit their understanding of grief to losing and coping with the death of a loved one, Susie Salmon28then they have trouble accounting for Susie's emotions. She mourns her own death and the missed opportunity of getting to grow up, but more significantly, Susie grieves over the loss of living people. In other words, the...
tracking img