The Indian Political System

Only available on StudyMode
  • Download(s) : 5557
  • Published : August 17, 2010
Open Document
Text Preview
Indian Political system
1. India is a Sovereign, Secular, Democratic Republic with a Parliamentary form of Government. 2. The Constitution was adopted by the Constituent Assembly on 26th November 1949 3. The constitution came into force on 26th November 1950. 4. The Constitution advocated the trinity of justice, liberty and equality for all the citizens. 5. The Constitution was framed keeping in mind the socioeconomic progress of the country. 6. India follows a parliamentary form of democracy and the government is federal in structure. 7. In Indian political system, the President is the constitutional head of the executive of the Union of India. 8. The real executive power is with the Prime Minister and the Council of Ministers. 9. According to the Article 74(1) of the constitution, the Council of Ministers under the leadership of the Prime Minister is responsible to aid and assist the President in exercising the Presidents function. 10. The Council of ministers is responsible to the Lok Sabha, the House of People. 11. In states the Governor is the representative of the President, though the real executive power is with the Chief Minister along with his Council of Ministers. 12. For a given state the Council of Ministers is collectively responsible for the elected legislative assembly of the state. 13. The Constitution administrates the sharing of legislative power between Parliament and the State Legislatures. 14. The Parliament has the power to amend the Constitution.

Political Party system
A recognized political party has been classified as a National Party or a State Party. If a political party is recognized in four or more states, it is considered as a National Party. The Congress, Bharatiya Janata Party, Janata Dal, Communist Party of India and Communist Party of India (Marxist) are the prominent National Parties in the Country. Telugu Desam in Andhra Pradesh, Asom Gana Parishad in Assam, Jharkhand...
tracking img