The Four Domains of Emotional Intelligence

Only available on StudyMode
  • Download(s) : 86
  • Published : May 11, 2012
Open Document
Text Preview
The four domains of emotional intelligence; self-management, self-awareness, social awareness and relationship management, are desired skill sets for leaders in the work environment. Self-management and self-awareness competencies Beginning with self-management, a person is responsible for their actions while at work. A candidate for a promotion may be overlooked, if their actions or language reflect a non-professional manner. As professionals, we are educated not to let our emotions get the best of us. The reason; because in an organization maturity matters. I have let my emotions get the better of me while working on the job. I have spoken at very inappropriate times, at things that weren’t my responsibility. I felt so passionately, I thought it was for the betterment of the company if I let the boss know exactly how I felt about important issues. If I had learned more about leadership, I would have waited my turn. Self-awareness in the work environment is critical to producing positive results. It is the leader knowing their own strengths and weaknesses. It is not looking at oneself as who they want to be, or who they hope to be, or who they were. It’s who the leader is today. If a leader does not know their own personal motives and beliefs, they could not possibly empathize with their employee’s. It is asking someone to do for others what they can’t do for themselves. Also a lack of confidence would cause the work environment to lose morale and trust. Employees would not be able to trust the judgment of the leadership, if they are continually let down because of poor management. Combining self knowledge, a strong sense of empathy, and having confidence as a leader, helps create strong self-awareness skills.
tracking img