Only available on StudyMode
  • Topic: Constitution of India, Members of Constituent Assembly of India, Indian National Congress
  • Pages : 2 (414 words )
  • Download(s) : 300
  • Published : July 16, 2012
Open Document
Text Preview
The Constitution of India is the supreme law of India. It lays down the framework defining fundamental political principles, establishes the structure, procedures, powers, and duties of government institutions, and sets out fundamental rights, directive principles, and the duties of citizens. It is the longest[1] written constitution of any sovereign country in the world, containing 448 [Note 1] articles in 24 parts, 12 schedules and 97 amendments. Besides the English version, there is an official Hindi translation. B. R. Ambedkar is the Chief Architect of Indian Constitution. [2][3][4] The Constitution was enacted by the Constituent Assembly on 26 November 1949, and came into effect on 26 January 1950.[5] The date 26 January was chosen to commemorate the Purna Swaraj declaration of independence of 1930. With its adoption, the Union of India officially became the modern and contemporary Republic of India and it replaced theGovernment of India Act 1935 as the country's fundamental governing document. The Constitution declares India to be asovereign, socialist, secular, democratic republic, assuring its citizens of justice, equality, and liberty, and endeavours to promote fraternity among them.[6] The words "socialist" and "secular" were added to the definition in 1976 by constitutional amendment.[7] India celebrates the adoption of the constitution on 26 January each year as Republic Day.[8] The Constitution was drafted by the Constituent Assembly, which was elected by the elected members of the provincial assemblies.[11] Dr B.R. Ambedkar,Sanjay Phakey, Jawaharlal Nehru, C. Rajagopalachari, Rajendra Prasad, Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel, Kanaiyalal Munshi, Purushottam Mavalankar,Sandipkumar Patel, Maulana Abul Kalam Azad, Shyama Prasad Mukherjee, Nalini Ranjan Ghosh, and Balwantrai Mehta were some important figures in the Assembly. There were more than 30 members of the scheduled classes. Frank Anthony represented the Anglo-Indian community, and the Parsis were...
tracking img