Active Directory Notes

Only available on StudyMode
  • Download(s) : 77
  • Published : February 6, 2013
Open Document
Text Preview
Active Directory 2008

* Most common directory service standards: X.500 and Lightweight Directory Access Protocol (LDAP)

* X.500- Uses a hierarchical, creates the Directory Information Tree (DIT), Each object has a unique “Distinguished Name”

* LDAP- Industry Standard, Slim-down version of X.500 modified to run over TCP/IP network.

Active Directory
* Used in Windows 2000, Server 2003 and Server 2008
* Introduced new Functional and Security Levels
* KCC- Knowledge Consistency Checker) A internal Active Directory Process Benefits
* Centralized resource and security administration
* Single Logon for access
* Fault Tolerance and redundancy
* Simplified resource location
* Scalability
Active Directory Domain Service (AD DS)
* Provides full-fledged directory service
* Hierarchical Org structure
* Multimaster Authentication
* Single Point of access for networks
* External network trust
Active Director Lightweight Directory Service (AD LDS)
* Provides lightweight, flexibility director platform
* Used when you don’t have a full blown overhead
Domain Controller
* Server that stores AD database and authenticates users with the network during logon * Stores database in the file called ntds.dit
* Information automatically replicated between domain controllers (in/out bound) Forest Root Domain
* First Domain created in the FOREST
* Inside the Root Domain, the First Root Domain Controller is created. Netdom
* Used to remove or mange trust
Cross-Forest Trust
* Available with Windows
* Transitive by nature
* Can be configured as either one or two way
Shortcut Trust
* Uses a “Trust Path”
* Can create a “Short Circuit” Direct path between two domains 2 way trust transit
* Automatically setup when installed…A-B.. A-C.. B-C
External Trust
* Similar to Shortcut Trust
* Users on other end of path cannot access...
tracking img