Uae Facts

Topics: United Arab Emirates, Abu Dhabi, Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum Pages: 9 (1960 words) Published: May 6, 2013
UAE Facts

The United Arab Emirates (UAE) was formed as a federation of seven emirates (Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Sharjah, Ajman, Ras Al Khaimah, Fujairah, Umm Al Quwain), which came together as one state on the 2nd of December 1971. The federal capital of UAE is Abu Dhabi and it is ruled by the President of the UAE, Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan

UAE Timeline


The Baniyas Tribe finds fresh water on the island of Abu Dhabi and decides to settle there.


The Old Fort is built (also known as the White Fort).


Britain and local rulers sign a treaty to combat piracy along the Gulf coast. From this, and later agreements, the area becomes known as the Trucial Coast.


Deal between the Trucial States and Britain gives Britain control over foreign affairs and each emirate control over internal affairs.


Sheikh Saqr Bin Muhammad Al Qasimi becomes Ruler of Ras Al Khaimah.


Oil is discovered.


The seven emirates form a Trucial Council.


Oil production begins on Das Island.


Abu Dhabi’s first paved road is constructed.


Oil is exported for the first time from Abu Dhabi.


Sheikh Zayed Bin Sultan Al Nahyan takes over as Ruler of Abu Dhabi and Dubai struck oil.


As independence looms, Bahrain and Qatar join the Trucial States. Differences cause the union to crumble in 1971.


Britain withdraws from the Gulf. The UAE joins the Arab League. Iran occupies the islands of Greater and Lesser Tunb and Abu Musa.


Ras Al Khaimah joins the federation. Sheikh Sultan Bin Muhammad Al Qasimi becomes Ruler of Sharjah. Federal National Council (FNC) is created; it is a 40 member consultative body appointed by the seven rulers.


The UAE launches a single currency, the UAE dirham.


Sheikh Hamad Bin Muhammad Bin Hamad Al Sharqi becomes Ruler of Fujairah.


UAE is a founding member of the Gulf Cooperation Council; its first summit is held in Abu Dhabi. Sheikh Rashid Bin Ahmad Al Mualla becomes Ruler of Umm Al Quwain. Sheikh Humaid Bin Rashid Al Nuaymi becomes Ruler of Ajman.


Sheikh Zayed Bin Sultan Al Nahyan is re-elected as UAE president for his fourth term. Abu Dhabi Duty Free opens.


Attempted coup in Sharjah. Sheikh Sultan Bin Muhammad Al Qasimi abdicates in favour of his brother after admitting financial mismanagement but is reinstated by the Supreme Council of Rulers.


Sheikh Rashid Bin Said Al Maktoum dies and is succeeded by his son Sheikh Maktoum Bin Rashid Al Maktoum as ruler of Dubai and UAE vice-president.


UAE forces join the allies against Iraq after the invasion of Kuwait.


Iran angers the UAE by saying visitors to Abu Musa and Greater and Lesser Tunb must have Iranian visas.


Iran fuels the dispute over Abu Musa and Greater and Lesser Tunb by building an airport on Abu Musa and a power station on Greater Tunb.


UAE restores diplomatic relations with Iraq; they were severed at the outbreak of the 1991 Gulf War.


Gulf Cooperation Council backs the UAE in its dispute with Iran over Greater and Lesser Tunb and Abu Musa.


Etihad, Abu Dhabi’s official airline, is launched.


Sheikh Zayed Bin Sultan Al Nahyan dies and is succeeded as ruler of the UAE by his son, Sheikh Khalifa Bin Zayed Al Nahyan. Emirates Palace Hotel opens in Abu Dhabi.


Sheikh Khalifa announces plans for the UAE's first elections. Half of the members of the consultative Federal National Council will be elected by a limited number of citizens.


Sheikh Maktoum Bin Rashid Al Maktoum, UAE PM and vice-president and ruler of Dubai, dies during a visit to Australia. He is succeeded by his brother, Sheikh Mohammed Bin...
Continue Reading

Please join StudyMode to read the full document

You May Also Find These Documents Helpful

  • Beowulf: Fact or Fiction? Essay
  • Historian Facts Essay
  • social facts Essay
  • Durkheim/Social Facts Essay
  • What Is Social Fact
  • Howard Case Findings of Fact Essay
  • What is Social Fact Essay
  • Nutrition Facts Label Essay

Become a StudyMode Member

Sign Up - It's Free