the seven chakras

Topics: Chakra, Astral projection, Heart Pages: 6 (1394 words) Published: April 20, 2014

The Seven Chakras
Chakra means, “Wheel of light” in Sanskrit. Chakras are invisible centers of spinning energy that run along our spine. There are seven major Chakras along the spine, and they concentrate and coordinate the flow of life force in and out of the body. This life force is the electromagnetic force field that surrounds all living things. If the chakras are not balanced, or if the energies are blocked, the basic life force will be slowed down. The individual may feel listless, tired, despondent, or depressed. Not only will physical bodily functions be affected so diseases may manifest, but the thought processes and the mind may also be affected. A negative attitude, pessimism, fear, doubt, etc. may preoccupy the individual. You can rectify these things by balancing your chakras. A constant balance between the chakras promotes health and a sense of well being. Each chakra has a name, symbol, location, color, tone, element, and sense associated with it distinct from the other chakras. The first chakra is the root chakra, called Muladhara in Sanskrit. The root chakra is located at the base of the spine at the tailbone in back, and the pubic bone in front. This center holds the basic needs for survival, security and safety and also the center of manifestation. When you are trying to make things happen in the material world, business or material possessions, the energy to succeed will come from the first chakra. If this chakra is blocked an individual may feel fearful, anxious, insecure and frustrated. Problems like obesity, anorexia nervosa, and knee troubles can occur. Root body parts include the hips, legs, lower back and sexual organs. The color used for this chakra is red. The second chakra is referred to as the belly or Sacral chakra. It is located two inches below the navel and is rooted into the spine. This center holds the basic needs for sexuality, creativity, intuition, and self-worth. This chakra is also about friendliness, creativity, and emotions. It governs people’s sense of self-worth, their confidence in their own creativity, and their ability to relate to others in an open and friendly way. It’s influenced by how emotions were expressed or repressed in the family during childhood. Proper balance in this chakra means the ability to flow with emotions freely and to feel and reach out to others sexually or not. If this chakra is blocked a person may feel emotionally explosive, manipulative, obsessed with thoughts of sex or may lack energy. Physical problems may include, kidney weakness, stiff lower back, constipation, and muscle spasms. Belly body parts include sexual organs (women), kidneys, bladder, and large intestine. The main color used with this chakra is orange. The third chakra is referred to as the Solar Plexus chakra. It is located two inches below the breastbone in the center behind the stomach. The third chakra is the center of personal power, the place of ego, of passions, impulses, anger and strength. It is also the center for astral travel and astral influences, receptivity of spirit guides and for psychic development. When the Third Chakra is out of balance you may feel like you’re in a quandary, lack confidence, worry about what others think, feel that others are controlling your life, and may have somber feelings. Physical problems may include digestive difficulties, liver problems, diabetes, nervous exhaustion, and food allergies. When balanced you may feel cheerful, outgoing, have self-respect, expressive, enjoy taking on new challenges, and have a strong sense of personal power. The body parts for this chakra include the stomach, liver, gall bladder, pancreas, and small intestine. The main color for this chakra is yellow. The fourth chakra is recognized as the heart chakra. It is located behind the breast bone in front and on the spine between the shoulder blades in back. This is the center for love, compassion and spirituality. This center directs one¹s ability to love...
Continue Reading

Please join StudyMode to read the full document

You May Also Find These Documents Helpful

  • Chakras Essay
  • Chakras Essay
  • Essay on The Chakras
  • Essay on Crimson Chakra
  • Seven Essay
  • The Seven Continents Research Paper
  • Seven Habits Essay
  • Week Seven Essay

Become a StudyMode Member

Sign Up - It's Free