Erikson's Stages of Development

Topics: Erikson's stages of psychosocial development, Developmental psychology, Erik Erikson Pages: 4 (1107 words) Published: April 24, 2012
Erikson's Theory of Psychosocial Development

Erikson’s and Freud’s theory of psychosocial development has many similarities in the way they believed a personality is developed. Freud’s describes his personality stages as the theory of psychosocial stages, while Erikson describes his as a social experience that is developed throughout life. Erikson believes each stage of life people encounter some type of conflict that changes their stage of development, whether it’s potential is for growth or failure.

There are eight stages of development that Erikson suggests as psychosocial development, these stages are as follows;
Stage 1 – this stage is the Trust vs. Mistrust stage, also known as the Infancy stage, which occurs between birth and one year of age. Erikson considers this stage the most fundamental. In this stage the child develops a since of security. Without this stage of development the child would fail to trust and live in fear.

Stage 2 - Autonomy vs. Shame and Doubt also referred to as the Early Childhood stage, ages two to three years of age. This stage is second on the list and generates a greater sense of control within the child. Some examples of the child developing control is; gaining control of body functions, being able to choice their toys, and clothes and even food choices. Developing this stage helps the child feel confident, without it they will develop self-doubt.

Stage 3 – next there is the preschool stage (ages 3 – 5), which is also referred to the Initiative vs. Guilt stage of development. This is when children begin to express their power through social interaction. This stage, developed successfully, helps children be able to lead and those how fail develop a sense of guilt.

Stage 4 – Industry vs. Inferiority stage of development occurs between ages 5 to 11. This stage of development is best developed during early school years through social interactions. This is when they begin to develop a sense of pride and belief in their...

References: Cherry, K., Erikson 's Theory of Psychosocial Development
Retrieved from
Allen, L., (2008). What the Stages of Life are and What They Mean.
Retrieved from
Erikson, E.H. (1968). Identity: Youth and Crisis. New York: Norton.
Erikson, E.H. (1963). Childhood and Society. (2nd ed.). New York: Norton.
Carver, C.S. & Scheir, M.F. (2000). Perspectives on Personality. Needham Heights, MA: Allyn & Bacon.
Rodemann, P., (2011). Spirituality, Age and Life-stage
Retrieved from
Slater, Charles L. (2003), "Generativity versus stagnation: An elaboration of Erikson’s Adult Stage of Human Development", Journal of Adult Development 10 (1): 53–65
Continue Reading

Please join StudyMode to read the full document

You May Also Find These Documents Helpful

  • Differences of Freud and Erikson's Stages Essay
  • Erikson's Psychoanalytic Stages Essay
  • Erickson stages of development and health assessment Essay
  • Essay about Psychosocial Stage of Development
  • Erikson's Psychosocial Theory of Development: Young Adults Essay
  • Essay about Developmental Stages
  • Erikson's Theories Personal Portrait Essay
  • Erikson’s Psychosocial Theory Essay

Become a StudyMode Member

Sign Up - It's Free