BJP: History, Organization and Ideology

Topics: Bharatiya Janata Party, Indian National Congress, India Pages: 16 (5319 words) Published: January 11, 2013
(1) Introduction BJP
BharatiyaJanata Party
Chairperson| Nitin Gadkari|
Parliamentary Chairperson| Nitin Gadkari|
Leader in Lok Sabha| Sushma Swaraj
(Leader of Opposition)|
Leader in Rajya Sabha| Arun Jaitley
(Leader of Opposition)|
Founded| 6 April 1980|
Preceded by| Bharatiya Jana Singh|
Headquarters| 11 Ashoka Road,
New Delhi, 110001|
Newspaper| Kamal Sandesh|
Youth wing| Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha|
Women's wing| BJP Mahila Morcha|
Peasant's wing| Bharatiya Kisan Sangh|
Ideology| Gandhi an socialism
Indian Nationalism
Integral humanism
Social conservatism[1]Internal factions:
 • Economic liberalism
 • Fiscal conservatism|
Political position| Centre-right to Right wing[2][3][4]|
International affiliation| None|
Colors| Saffron  |
ECI Status| National Party|
Alliance| National Democratic Alliance (NDA)|
Seats in Lok Sabha| 115 / 545|
Seats in Rajya Sabha| 49 / 245|
Election symbol|

The BharatiyaJanata Party (Hindi: भारतीयजनतापार्टी; pronunciation; translation: Indian People's Party; often abbreviated as BJP) is one of the two major political parties in India, the other being the Indian National Congress. Established in 1980, it is India's second largest political party in terms of representation in the parliament and in the various state assemblies. The Bharatiya Janata Party advocates Hindu nationalism and social conservatism, self-reliance, social justice, foreign policy driven by a nationalist agenda, a strong national defense and a more economically liberal fiscal policy to that of the democratic socialist Indian National Congress, although the party manifesto strongly supports the welfare state and some aspects of Green politics.[5] The party's platform is generally considered to the right of the Indian political spectrum.[6] The BJP headed the national government along with a coalition of parties of the NDA from 1998 to 2004, under the premiership of AtalBihari Vajpayee, making it the first non-Congress government to last the full term in office. Since the 2004 election defeat the party has been the principal opposition in parliament.

(2) Origins
The BJP is a direct successor of the Bharatiya Jana Singh (BJS, Indian People's Union), founded in 1951 by Syama Prasad Mookerjee, a nationalist leader, former Union Minister and freedom-fighter. It was considered the political wing of the Sangh. Formed to suppress the congress ideology But the fortunes of the young party took a dip in 1953, when Mookherjee was jailed in Kashmir by then Indian Prime Minister, Jawaharlal Nehru. After his death in custody, the BJS lasted for 24 more years, but never seriously challenged the power of Indian National Congress, the only well-structured political party since India's independence. It did however groom future political leaders like AtalBihari Vajpayee and Lal Krishna Advani. When Indira Gandhi imposed a state of emergency in 1975, postponing elections and making contested use of major central powers granted to her by the Constitution, the BJS joined a coalition of parties in active protest. Several of its leaders were arrested. But when elections were called in 1977, the BJS invested all its political and organizational capital in merging into the new Janata Party, a unified opposition party. A mixture of socialists, regionalists, and former Congressmen, the party was united in its opposition to the Emergency and Indira Gandhi. The Janata Party defeated Indira Gandhi's Congress Party in a landslide victory and formed a government under Morarji Desai's leadership. Vajpayee, the most senior BJS leader, became Minister for External Affairs, while Lal Krishna Advani became the Minister for Information and Broadcasting. The Janata Party government lasted for only two years, and following its collapse, Indira Gandhi's Congress came back to power. When the Janata Party...
Continue Reading

Please join StudyMode to read the full document

You May Also Find These Documents Helpful

  • history Essay
  • History of Essays
  • History Research Paper
  • History Essay
  • HISTORY Essay
  • history Essay
  • history Research Paper
  • history Essay

Become a StudyMode Member

Sign Up - It's Free