Three Branches of Government

Topics: United States Constitution, United States, President of the United States Pages: 4 (1126 words) Published: July 2, 2008
Three Branches of the Federal Government
In May 1787, 55 delegates from 12 states, Rhode Island declined, met in Philadelphia for the Constitutional Convention. The purpose of the convention was to revise the Articles of Confederation, but what occurred was the writing of the U.S. Constitution. George Washington was unanimously elected as President of the Convention. After four months of deliberations Gouveneur Morris submitted the final draft and 39 of the 55 delegate present signed the Constitution. At the Convention the founding fathers decided to divide the federal government into three branches. In the paragraphs below I will discuss their reason for dividing the government, the three branches and how the three branches interact. Three Branches

In 1787 leaders from 12 of the 13 states gathered to write the United States Constitution. The Constitution was a set of principles that would govern the United States of America following independence from Great Britain. The leaders of the states wanted a strong and fair national government, but they also wanted to protect individual freedoms and prevent the government from abusing its power. They believed they could do this by having three separate branches of government: the Executive Branch which is controlled by the President, the Legislative Branch which is controlled by Congress and the Judiciary Branch which is controlled by the Supreme Court (Three Branches of Government, 2007). Executive Branch

Article II, section one of the Constitution states that executive power is vested in the President. This makes the President the head of the Executive Branch. To become President a person must be 35 years old, a natural born American citizen and a resident of the U.S. for at least 14 years. The President is elected by the entire country and serves a four year term. He appoints and removes cabinet members and is the Commander in Chief of the armed forces. The Vice President also falls under the Executive Branch and...
Continue Reading

Please join StudyMode to read the full document

You May Also Find These Documents Helpful

  • Three Branches of Government Essay
  • Three branches of Government Research Paper
  • What Are The Three Branches Of Government Essay
  • Branches of Government Essay
  • Branches of the Government Essay
  • Three Branches Of Government Essay
  • Arizona Statehood: the Three Branches of Government Essay

Become a StudyMode Member

Sign Up - It's Free