The Beatitudes of Jesus

Topics: Jesus, Sermon on the Mount, Christian terms Pages: 7 (2484 words) Published: February 2, 2010

THE BEATITUDES ……………………………………………………3 1."Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven."3 2."Blessed are they who mourn, for they shall be comforted."3 3."Blessed are the meek, for they shall inherit the earth."4 4."Blessed are they who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied."4 5."Blessed are the merciful, for they shall obtain mercy."5 6."Blessed are the pure of heart, for they shall see God."6 7."Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called children of God."7 8."Blessed are they who are persecuted for the sake of righteousness, for theirs is the Kingdom of Heaven."7 CONCLUSION8



The Beatitudes are found in the Holy Bible from the book of Matthew 5: 3-12 The word beatitude is derived from the Latin word beatus which means blessed. One of the first contemplations on the Beatitudes came from St. Gregory of Nyssa, a mystic who lived in Cappadocia in Asia Minor around 380 AD. He described the Beatitudes this way: "Beatitude is a possession of all things held to be good, from which nothing is absent that a good desire may want. Perhaps the meaning of beatitude may become clearer if it is compared with its opposite. The opposite of beatitude is misery. Misery means being afflicted unwillingly with painful sufferings." Beatitudes of Christian life are simply stated but are known to be intense in meaning. They point, guide and teach. This shows us the values that Christ is concerned with. It is believed that if these values are followed, can not only bring a believer into a state of peace and happiness, but also right into the Kingdom of God after our journey on earth comes to an end. Jesus Christ gave us the eight Beatitudes in the Sermon on the Mount, recorded for all posterity in the Gospel of Matthew, the first Book of the New Testament of the Bible. The teachings of Christ Jesus were simple but unique and innovative at the time of his life on earth thus the message of Jesus was one of humility, charity, and brotherly love. He taught transformation of the inner person. All of the Beatitudes have an eschatological meaning, that is, they promise us salvation - not in this world, but in the next. Delving deeper into the meaning of the Beatitudes, it becomes apparent that they are laid out in a definite sequence. They show a person the way to true happiness and explain how to travel on this path. The fact that each person (without exception) is damaged by sin, and thus destitute and pitiful, serves as the starting point for the Beatitudes. While the Beatitudes provide a way of life that promises salvation, they also provide peace in the midst of our trials and tribulations on this earth.

Here we look at each of the eight Beatitude with its significance to Christian life.

1. "Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven." "Poor in spirit" means to be humble. Humility is the realization that all your gifts and blessings come from the grace of God. To have poverty of spirit means to be completely empty and open to the Word of God. When we are an empty cup and devoid of pride, we are humble. Humility brings openness and an inner peace, allowing one to do the will of God. He who humbles himself is able to accept our delicate nature, to repent, and to allow the grace of God to lead us to Conversion. It is pride, the opposite of humility, which brings misery. For pride brings anger and the seeking of revenge, especially when one is offended. If every man were humble and poor in spirit, there would be no war. Significance. The clear lesson is that if any are going to enter the kingdom of heaven they must become poor in spirit. This is the message of the kingdom; it is the call of repentance. They must humble themselves before God and acknowledge that they bring nothing of their own power, possessions or merit to gain entrance. Those...
Continue Reading

Please join StudyMode to read the full document

You May Also Find These Documents Helpful

  • beatitudes Essay
  • Essay about The Beatitudes
  • Essay about The Eighth Beatitude
  • Beatitudes and Parables Essay
  • Jesus Essay
  • jesus Essay
  • Essay about jesus
  • Essay about Beatitudes and Reflection

Become a StudyMode Member

Sign Up - It's Free