The 7 Stages of Grieving: Play Scene Analysis

Topics: Indigenous Australians, Serpent, Grief Pages: 3 (889 words) Published: October 6, 2013
Challenges may be experienced as an individual transitions into the world, facing barriers about their identity and self of sense. Transitioning in the world may also set a pathway towards growth and change. The barriers that society places on an individual may either hinder their growth or open new gateways to connect with the world. The 7 Stages of Grieving by Wesley Enoch and Deborah Mailman is an episodic drama play about the barriers and challenges the Indigenous Australians had to face about the colonisation of the white man and the many challenges and hardships they had to endure. Similiarly 'A Getting of Wisdom' is a speech by Craig Asby posted as a news article on the Sydney Morning Herald about a young aborginal boy who transforms himself from a lost, anxious boy to a confident respectable man with the power of knowledge, thus overcoming his barriers moving in the world. Both text explores positive and negative themes of grieving, discrimination and growth. This is portrayed using various dramatic and language techniques.

The 7 Stages of Grieving explores the personal and political history of Aboriginals, resulting in many challenges, hindering their transition in the world. The play is acted out by one woman, representing the 'everywoman' as she tells her stories of grief and discrimination. Scene 2 Sobbing' explores the theme of grief faced through the loss of culture, land and identity. In the scene, a light reveals a woman alone in her grief, the use of the Brechtian projection of alienating technique draws the audience into the plot. The Brecht Technique breaks the 4th wall with the audience as it connects them with the play and makes them think about the nature of her deep wails. This expressionism heavily relies on the emotion to convey its meaning. As this is happening the use of multimedia projects words onto the screen behind her portraying words such as 'grief, loss, pain..' these words all link to the woman's feelings and give...
Continue Reading

Please join StudyMode to read the full document

You May Also Find These Documents Helpful

  • 7 Stages Of Grieving Essay
  • Essay about The stages of play
  • Scene Analysis Essay
  • Analysis of Macbeth: Act 1 Scene 7 Essay
  • 7 Stages of Development Essay
  • Stages of Play Psychology Essay
  • Childcare Unit 7 Play Essay
  • Shotgun Stories: Funeral Scene Analysis Essay

Become a StudyMode Member

Sign Up - It's Free