The 7 Layers of the Osi Model

Topics: OSI model, Data Link Layer, Logical Link Control Pages: 3 (500 words) Published: April 29, 2013
The 7 Layers of the OSI Model
Last updated: March 03, 2008

The OSI, or Open System Interconnection, model defines a networking framework for implementing protocols in seven layers. Control is passed from one layer to the next, starting at the application layer in one station and proceeding to the bottom layer, over the channel to the next station and back up the hierarchy. |Application |This layer supports application and end-user processes. Communication partners are identified, | |(Layer 7) |quality of service is identified, user authentication and privacy are considered, and any | | |constraints on data syntax are identified. Everything at this layer is application-specific. This| | |layer provides application services for file transfers, e-mail, and other network software | | |services. Telnet and FTP are applications that exist entirely in the application level. Tiered | | |application architectures are part of this layer. | | |  | |Presentation |This layer provides independence from differences in data representation (e.g., encryption) by | |(Layer 6) |translating from application to network format, and vice versa. The presentation layer works to | | |transform data into the form that the application layer can accept. This layer formats and | | |encrypts data to be sent across a network, providing freedom from compatibility problems. It is | | |sometimes...
Continue Reading

Please join StudyMode to read the full document

You May Also Find These Documents Helpful

  • 7 Layers of the Osi Model Essay
  • The Session Layer of the Osi Model Essay
  • Osi Model with Its Seven Layers Research Paper
  • OSI refrence model Essay
  • Osi Model Research Paper
  • Essay on The Osi Model
  • Osi Model Essay
  • Explain the Different Layers of Osi Reference Model Essay

Become a StudyMode Member

Sign Up - It's Free