Team Discussion Buddhism broken down

Topics: Buddhism, Noble Eightfold Path, Gautama Buddha Pages: 5 (552 words) Published: February 8, 2015
Hello Team,

I have been busy researching all the various schools of Buddhism this week, attempting to discern how many there are, what the real differences between the schools, and compiling all the research.

“Doctrine of Elders”
“The Great Ship”
“The Great Vehicle”
Temporal Origin
100 BCE
100 CE
500 CE
650 CE
Geographic Origin
India & Sri Lanka
China & Japan
Religious Text(s)
Pali Canon
Pali Canon
Mayhayna Canon
Pali Canon, Mahayana Canon
Vajrayana Tantras
Platform Sutra
Lankavatra Sutra
Siddhartha Guatauma (The Buddha)
Monk Scholars Nagarjuna, Asanga & Vasubandhu
(No single Founder Credited )

Monk Scholars Nagarjuna & Asanga
(No Single Founder Credited )
Huineng (Chinese Peasant) & Indian Monk Bodhidharma (a.k.a.- The Wall Gazing Brahmin” Schisms
Most Ancient/ Orthodox Sect with reform in
some practices as “revival.”
Schism Movement
Vajrayana, Pure Land, & Zen are Subsets of Mahayana
Schism Movement
(Tibetan, Tendai, Tantric, Esoteric, Japanese Shingon, Mikkyo, and more) Rinzai
Divine Beings & Sacred Spaces
The Buddha
The Buddha
The Buddha
Semi-Divine Beings: Avalokitesshvara, Maitreya, Vajrapani, Vajradhara, & Tara Nirvana
Various Lamas (Dali Lama) Vajrayana Temples
The Buddhist Pantheon & Immortals Nature is Divine

1) The Buddha
2) Compassion
3) Suffering
4) Basic Teachings
5) Original Hindu Influence
6) Meditation & Yoga
1) Theravada is orthodox, adherent to original teachings, the last surviving of the original schools of Buddhism, Significant concern in the Monastic. 2) Mahayana and the subdivisions have a different interpretation of Anatta 3) In Theravada (Arhat) in Mahayana (Bodhisattva).

4) Only hold veneration for the Buddha in Theravada
5) Veneration to various Buddha’s and Bodhisattvas in Mahayana 6) Vajrayana is ritualistic and ceremonial.
7) Vajrayana Yoga is dissimilar- Tantric/Deity Yoga.

Basic Buddhist Teachings

1)(Anicca) Inconsistency/ Impermanence
2)(Dukka) Suffering
3)(Anatta) Non-Self
-In Some Instances-

1) (Dukka) Life is suffering.
2) (Tanha) Suffering is the result of desire.
3) The cure of suffering is to control desire
4) To cure suffering follows the Eightfold Path.

The Five Precepts
1) Do not Kill
2) Do not Steal
3) Do not Lie
4) Do not be Unchaste
5) Do not do Drugs or Intoxicants

1) (Samma Ditthi) Right ViewWisdom
See the world through the Four Noble Truths and Three Marks of Existence 2) (Samma Sankappa) Right IntentionWisdom
Being mindful of all intentions
3) (Samma Vaca) Right SpeechMorality
Be compassionate, truthful, kind, and relevant with all communication. 4) (Samma Kammanta) Right ActionMorality
With wholesome intentions, wholesome actions will follow.
5) (Samma Ajiva) Right LivelihoodMorality
Living a proper life in every aspect and stage.
6) (Samma Vayana) Right EffortConcentration
Being mindful of effort, motivation and intention for all actions. 7) (Samma Sati) Right MindfulnessConcentration
Having awareness and paying attention to thoughts and efforts. 8) (Samma Samadhi) Right ConcentrationConcentration
Practicing the proper meditation, contemplation, yoga. Etc.

1) (Sila)Good moral/ethical conduct
2) (Bahsutta) Great Learning
3) (Kalyana Mitta)Good Company
4) (Sovacassata) Meekness
5) (Kingkarainyesu Dakkhata)Diligent Altruism
6) (Dhammakamata)Love of the truth and the Doctrine
7) (Viriarambha)Energy and Effort to Avoid Evil
8) (Santutthi)Contentment
9) (Sati) Mindfulness
10) (Panna)Wisdom Insight

1) Greed

Continue Reading

Please join StudyMode to read the full document

You May Also Find These Documents Helpful

  • buddhism Essay
  • Buddhism Essay
  • Buddhism Research Paper
  • Essay on Team Discussion Week 2
  • Mahayana Buddhism Essay
  • Buddhism Essay
  • Buddhism Essay
  • Essay on Buddhism

Become a StudyMode Member

Sign Up - It's Free