Susan Hill's Biography

Topics: Ghost, Penguin Books, Susan Hill Pages: 7 (2183 words) Published: August 8, 2006
Susan Hill

Novelist, children's writer and playwright Susan (Elizabeth) Hill was born in Scarborough, England, on 5 February 1942. She was educated at Scarborough Convent School and at grammar school in Coventry, before reading English at King's College, London, graduating in 1963 and becoming a Fellow in 1978. Her first novel, The Enclosure, was published in 1961 when she was still a student. She worked as a freelance journalist between 1963 and 1968, publishing her third novel, Gentleman and Ladies, in 1968. She became a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature in 1972 and was a presenter of BBC Radio 4's 'Bookshelf' from 1986 to 1987. In 1996 she started her own publishing company, Long Barn Books, editing and publishing a quarterly literary journal, Books and Company, in 1998. She won a Somerset Maugham Award for I'm the King of the Castle (1970); the Whitbread Novel Award for The Bird of Night (1972); and the Mail on Sunday/John Llewellyn Rhys Prize for The Albatross (1971), a collection of short stories. Her other novels include Strange Meeting (1971), set during the First World War, In the Springtime of the Year (1974), Air and Angels (1991), and most recently, The Service of Clouds (1998). The Woman in Black (1983), a Victorian ghost story, was successfully adapted for stage and television and Mrs de Winter (1993) is a sequel to Daphne du Maurier's Rebecca. Susan Hill is also the author of two volumes of memoir, The Magic Apple Tree: A Country Year (1982), about her life in rural Oxfordshire during the 1970s, and Family (1989), in which she writes about her early life in Scarborough. Her books for children include The Glass Angels (1991), Beware, Beware (1993) and King of Kings (1993). She has also written radio plays, a number of books of non-fiction and has edited several anthologies of short stories including two volumes of The Penguin Book of Modern Women's Short Stories, published in 1991 and 1997. Her most recent books are The Various Haunts of Men (2004) and Pure in Heart (2005), both about the adventures of Detective Chief Inspector Simon Serailler. She is married to the Shakespeare scholar Professor Stanley Wells with whom she lives in a farmhouse in the north Cotswolds.

The Enclosure Hutchinson, 1961
Do Me a Favour Hutchinson, 1963
Gentleman and Ladies Hamish Hamilton, 1968
A Change for the Better Hamish Hamilton, 1969
I'm the King of the Castle Hamish Hamilton, 1970
Strange Meeting Hamish Hamilton, 1971
The Albatross Hamish Hamilton, 1971
The Bird of Night Hamish Hamilton, 1972
The Custodian (limited edition of 600 copies) Covent Garden Press, 1972 A Bit of Singing and Dancing Hamish Hamilton, 1973
In the Springtime of the Year Hamish Hamilton, 1974
The Cold Country and Other Plays for Radio BBC Publications, 1975 The Distracted Preacher and Other Stories by Thomas Hardy (editor) Penguin, 1979 New Stories (editor with Isabel Quigly) Hutchinson (for the Arts Council of Great Britain and PEN), 1980 The Magic Apple Tree: A Country Year Hamish Hamilton, 1982 Ghost Stories (editor) Hamish Hamilton, 1983

People: Essays and Poems (editor) Chatto & Windus, 1983
The Woman in Black Hamish Hamilton, 1983
One Night at a Time Hamish Hamilton, 1984
The Ramshackle Company Longman, 1985
Mother's Magic Hamish Hamilton, 1986
The Lighting of the Lamps Hamish Hamilton, 1986
Lanterns Across the Snow Michael Joseph, 1987
Shakespeare Country Michael Joseph, 1987
Can It Be True?: A Christmas Story Hamish Hamilton, 1988
The Spirit of the Cotswolds Michael Joseph, 1988
Family Michael Joseph, 1989
Suzy's Shoes Hamish Hamilton, 1989
Ghost Stories (editor) Longman, 1990
I Won't Go There Again Julia MacRae, 1990
Septimus Honeydew Julia MacRae, 1990
Stories from Codling Village Julia MacRae, 1990
The Parchment Man: An Anthology of Modern Women's Short Stories (editor) Michael Joseph, 1990 The Walker Book of...

Bibliography: Hill, Susan. The Woman in Black. Boston: David R. Godine, Pubisher, 1983.
Official Web Site of Susan Hill. 16 June 2006. Pedalo Limited. 16 June 2006. .
"Susan Hill." Contemporary Writers. British Council. 28 April 2006. 15 June 2006. .
Continue Reading

Please join StudyMode to read the full document

You May Also Find These Documents Helpful

  • Analyzing Susan Hill’s Novel, The Woman in Black Essay
  • Essay on susan
  • Biography Essay
  • Biographies Essay
  • An Analysis of a Selected Passage Out of Susan Hill's "Im the King of the Castle." Essay
  • Kingshaw's feelings in Susan Hill's I'm the king of the castle Essay
  • Tyranny and Freedom in Susan Hill's A Bit of Singing and Dancing Essay
  • biography Essay

Become a StudyMode Member

Sign Up - It's Free