San Diego Chargers Essay

Topics: San Diego Chargers, National Football League, American Football League Pages: 6 (2279 words) Published: December 8, 2013


The San Diego Chargers are a professional football team based in San Diego, California. They have been members of the Western Division of the American Football Conference (AFC) in the National Football League (NFL) since 1970. The club began play in 1960 as a charter member of the American Football League, and spent its first season in Los Angeles, California before moving to San Diego in 1961. The Chargers play their home games at Qualcomm Stadium in San Diego California, and continue to be the only NFL team based in Southern California, with no teams in Los Angeles since 1994. The Chargers announced their 50th Anniversary Team in 2009 to honor the top players and coaches in the team's history. When the Chargers were founded in 1959, the team included 53 players and coaches selected from 103 nominees. The Chargers originally stated that only 50 members would be selected for the anniversary team. Online voting by fans accounted for 50 percent of the voting results; votes from Chargers Hall of Fame and five members of the local media made up for the other 50 percent. Over 400,000 votes were cast online. Dan Fouts and LaDainian Tomlinson received the first and second most votes, respectively. The team features seven Pro Football Hall of Fame members and 11 players that were active on the 2009 Chargers team. The Chargers won one AFL title in 1963 and reached the AFL playoffs five times and the AFL Championship four times before joining the NFL (1970) as part of the AFL-NFL Merger. In the 34 years since then, the Chargers have made ten trips to the playoffs and four appearances in the AFC Championship game. At the end of the 1994 season, the Chargers faced the San Francisco 49ers in Super Bowl XXIX, and fell 49 to 26. The Chargers have six players and one coach enshrined in the Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio: wide receiver Lance Alworth, defensive end Fred Dean, quarterback Dan Fouts, head coach/general manager Sid Gillman, wide receiver Charlie Joiner, offensive lineman Ron Mix and tight end Kellen Winslow. The Chargers created their own Hall of Fame in 1976. The members of the San Diego Hall of Fame are honored at the Chargers Ring of Honor, founded in 2000, and viewable above the visiting team's sideline of Qualcomm Stadium on the press level. Eligible candidates must have been retired for at least four seasons. In 2012 the Chargers began allowing fans to vote for the newest member. Previously, selections were made by a five-member committee chaired by Dean Spanos, Chargers vice-chairman. As of 1992, other committee members included Bob Breitbard, founder of the San Diego Hall of Champions; Ron Fowler, president of the Greater San Diego Sports Association; Jane Rappoport, president of the Charger Backers, a Chargers based fan club; and Bill Johnston, the team's director of public relations. Following a losing season in 2012, the Chargers implemented major coaching leadership changes for the 2013 season. On January 9, 2013, the Chargers announced that Tom Telesco, former Vice President of Football Operations with the Indianapolis Colts, would take over as General Manager following the firing of A. J. Smith. On January 15, 2013, former Denver offensive coordinator Mike McCoy was hired as the new head coach. The San Diego Chargers selected D. J. Fluker, Manti Te'o and Keenan Allen in the first three rounds of the 2013 NFL Draft. There are 53 active players on an NFL team roster, though the game-day roster can only consist of 46 players. Of that 53 man roster, the San Diego Chargers have 9 rookies (first year as a pro), 5 players with 10 years or more experience, and what seems to be a good mix of young versus experienced players. Along with new head coach Mike McCoy, the Chargers have hired a new offensive coordinator, Ken Whisenhut, a former 6 year head coach of the Arizona Cardinals and new special teams coach, Kevin Spencer, a 15 year veteran of the job; they join 12 year Charger coach and...

References: Lee, D.T., & Schmidt, A.R. (2005). Motor Control and Learning: A Behavioural Emphasis. (4th ed). Windsor, ON: Human Kinetics
Rausch P., A (2013) Business Intelligence and Performance Management: Theory, Systems, and Industrial Applications, ISBN 978-1-4471-4865-4.
Rapoport, I. (2013). San Diego Chargers surround QB Philip Rivers with fresh faces. Retrieved from
Routledge, T (2009) Journal of Organizational Behavior Management, Published quarterly.
Continue Reading

Please join StudyMode to read the full document

You May Also Find These Documents Helpful

  • Essay about San Diego Chargers
  • Persuasive Essay on Mac Books
  • Essay about Dodge Charger
  • A Business Plan for “Setting Up a Charger Fan Industry” Research Paper
  • Comm 215 Persuasive Essay
  • Essay about Case Analysis: San Diego Chargers
  • Homeless in San Diego Essay
  • Retail Data San Diego Essay

Become a StudyMode Member

Sign Up - It's Free