Psychosocial Stage of Development

Topics: Erik Erikson, Developmental psychology / Pages: 7 (1520 words) / Published: Dec 16th, 2012
Psychosocial Stage of Development
One of the best known personality theories is Erik Erickson’s theory of psychosocial development. Like Sigmund Freud, Erikson believed that personality developed in a series of stages. Erikson described who social experience impacted across the whole life span of a person. Ego identity development is one of the main elements to his theory because it is constantly changing as because of life experiences and information a person obtains in his or her daily interactions with other people (Cherry, 2010). Actions and behaviors are motivated by the sense of competence and each stage is concerned with competence in a certain area of life. There are eight stages in Erikson theory of psychosocial development that people enter at different ages in life. Each stage and the outcome of each stage are explained. Also the stage that I am presently in my life and how this stage influences my behavior and relationships are explained along with other developmental issues that has influenced my personality.
Series of Stages There are eight series of stages in Erickson’s theory of psychosocial development. In each stage, a person experiences a conflict that is a turning point in the particular developmental stage. The conflicts that a person endures center on developing or not developing a quality. The first stage is Trust vs. Mistrust Stage occurs during the age of infancy. This stage is the fundamental stage in life and because infants are dependent, they develop trust based on the quality and dependability of their caregivers. When a child successfully develops trust, he or she will obtain safeness and security in the world. If the child is shown inconsistently, no emotion, or rejection the child will not develop trust resulting to fear and belief of unpredictable and inconsistency in the world. The second stage is Autonomy vs. Shame and Doubt occurs during early childhood age. This stage focuses on development of greater

References: Cherry, K. (2010). Erikson 's Stages of Psychosocial Development: Psychosocial Development in Young Adulthood, Middle Age, and Old Age. Retrieved from Davis, D. & Clifton, A. (1995). Psychosocial Theory: Erikson. Retrieved from Munley, P. H. (1975). Erik Erikson 's theory of psychosocial development and vocational behavior. Journal Of Counseling Psychology, 22(4), 314-319. doi:10.1037/h0076749

You May Also Find These Documents Helpful

  • Psychosocial Stage of Development
  • My Psychosocial Stage of Development
  • Psychosocial Stage of Development Paper
  • Erikson’s Stages of Psychosocial Development
  • Erikson's Stages of Psychosocial Development
  • Erikson's Psychosocial Stages Of Development
  • Erikson's Stages Of Psychosocial Development
  • Erikson's Fifth Stage of Psychosocial Development
  • Analyzing Erikson's Stages Of Psychosocial Development
  • Psychosocial Development