Piaget’s Theory

Topics: Theory of cognitive development, Jean Piaget, Neo-Piagetian theories of cognitive development Pages: 3 (1068 words) Published: October 13, 2014
During the different stages of development, children end up going through many different changes, which each child develops differently they also go through the stages differently. When looking into Piagets Theory it is a way to help understand the developments along with the stages of children, such as each stage describes children’s way of thinking along with cognitive development. Piagets Theory focuses on the Development of the children not just the learning. The stages of Piagets theory is designed to be a way of putting detailed with information on the concept’s, behaviors and with different ideas to help us better understand development stages of children.

We have learned there are four different stages in Piaget’s theory. When thinking of the first stage, it is the sensorimotor period. When looking into sensorimotor period start from the age of birth till the age of two. We have come to see that infants learned through trial and error learning. Children are first relying on reflexes, which eventually help them to adapt to their world. Conducts become target directed, progressing from real to subjective goals. Objects along with events could be mentally represented with the child. When learning about sensorimotor stages, children are developing through six different stages of intellectual development that happens in between two years. These kind of stages are often called the subscription stages in the sensorimotor time period. Stage on is the modification of reflexes which last from birth to 1 month old. The subsequent stage is the Primary sale paper reactions which last in one month till four months old. The next stage is the secondary sale paper reactions which last type four many weeks until eight months old. The next stage is the coordination of secondary blood circulation reactions which last from eight many weeks until year of era. The six stage is the tertiary sale paper reactions which last from year until eight-teen months old. The final...

References: McLeod, S. 2010. Sensorimotor Stage. Simple Psychology. Retrieved From
Siegler, R.S., and Alibali, M.W. (2005). Children’s thinking 4th edition. Upper Saddle River,
NJ: Prentice-Hall, Inc.
Continue Reading

Please join StudyMode to read the full document

You May Also Find These Documents Helpful

  • Essay on Theories of Motivation
  • Social Learning Theory (Psycology) Essay
  • Cognitive Theory Of Personality Essay
  • Piaget's Theory Essay
  • How theories of development and frameworks to support development influence current practice Essay
  • Theory on Literacy Essay
  • Essay on Piaget's Theory of Infant Development
  • Summary of Piaget’s Theories Essay

Become a StudyMode Member

Sign Up - It's Free