Nobel Prize in Literature

Topics: Nobel Prize, Nobel Prize in Literature, Mario Vargas Llosa Pages: 2 (678 words) Published: May 20, 2013
Nobel Prize in Literature
The Nobel Prize in Literature is considered to be the most prestigious literature prize throughout the world and is awarded since 1901. According to Alfred Nobel’s will, it is granted annually to an author from any country who has produced, "the most outstanding work in an ideal direction in the field of literature ". The Swedish Academy decides who will receive the prize in any given year. The procedure lasts for a year. At first, the members of the Nobel Committee send 600-700 service lists approximately to those, who have a right to be nominated. The Committee creates a list and passes it to the Academy in order to confirm it. The Committee chooses 15-20 names of the candidates for the Academy to consider. The Committee narrows the list up to 5 finalists and then the members of the Academy acquaint with the works of the candidates. The acquaintance is followed by a substantial discussion. Then they choose the winner and a solemn ceremony of the Nobel Prize presentation takes place. The first Nobel Prize laureate in literature was Sully Prudhomme. The Prize wasn’t considered 7 times in 1914, 1918, 1935 and 1940-1943, 2 Prizes were awarded during one year in у 1904, 1917, 1966 and 1974. Jean-Paul Sartre and Boris Pasternak refused to take the Prize. The Prize even was awarded posthumously once. Erik Axel Karlfeldt received it after having been the member of the Academy for 20 years. He served there as a secretary and was nominated twice but he would never agreed to award himself with a Prize. Peruvian writer Mario Vargas Llosa was awarded with a Prize in 2010. He was awarded with a Prize for “the mapping of the power-holding structures and creating the transparent picture of the resistance, rebellion and the defeat of the human being”. Last time Latin American country received such award in 1982. It belonged to Gabriel García Márquez.

As it was mentioned above, the Nobel Committee defines the nominees for the Nobel Prize, but the...
Continue Reading

Please join StudyMode to read the full document

You May Also Find These Documents Helpful

  • Text Analysis About John Steinbeck’s Nobel Prize Acceptance Speech Essay
  • Alfred Nobel: the Man Behind the Prize. Essay
  • World Literature Essay
  • Analysis of William Faulkners Nobel Prrize of Literarure Speech Essay
  • Jean Paul Sartre (Letter of Recommadation
  • Obama's Nobel Peace Prize Essay
  • Nobel Prize Assignment Essay
  • Nobel Prize Essay

Become a StudyMode Member

Sign Up - It's Free