Indian Railways

Topics: Indian Railways, Rail gauge, Narrow gauge railway Pages: 17 (5560 words) Published: November 6, 2009

Indian Railways abbreviated as IR, is the state-owned railway company of India, which owns and operates most of the country's rail transport. It is overseen by the Ministry of Railways of the Government of India. Indian Railways has one of the largest and busiest rail networks in the world, transporting over 18 million passengers and more than 2 million tonnes of freight daily. It is the world's largest commercial or utility employer, with more than 1.4 million employees. The railways traverse the length and breadth of the country, covering 6,909 stations over a total route length of more than 63,327 kilometers (39,350 mi). As to rolling stock IR owns over 200,000 (freight) wagons, 50,000 coaches and 8,000 locomotives. Railways were first introduced to India in 1853. By 1947, the year of India’s Independence there were forty-two rail systems. In 1951 the systems were nationalized as one unit, becoming one of the largest networks in the world. IR operates long distance and suburban rail systems on a multi gauge network of broad, meter and narrow gauges. It also owns locomotive and coach production facilities.

Organizational Structure
Indian Railways is a department owned and controlled by the government of India, via the Ministry of Railways. As of June 2009, the Railway Ministry is headed by Mamtha Benerjee, the Union Minister for Railways and assisted by two ministers of State for Railways. Indian Railways is administered by the apex management organization, Railway Board , also called the Ministry of Railways. The board is headed by a Chairman who reports to the Minister of Railways. The board has five other members in addition to the chairman. The General Managers of the zonal railways and the production units report to the board.

Railway Zones


A Schematic map of the Indian Railways network showing various zones.


The headquarters of the Indian Railways in New Delhi

Indian Railways is divided into zones, which are further sub-divided into divisions. The number of zones in Indian Railways increased from six to eight in 1951, nine in 1952, and finally 16 in 2003. Each zonal railway is made up of a certain number of divisions, each having a divisional headquarters. There are a total of sixty-seven divisions. The Kolkata Metro is owned and operated by Indian Railways, but is not a part of any of the zones. It is administratively considered to have the status of a zonal railway. Each of the sixteen zones, as well as the Kolkata Metro, is headed by a General Manager (GM) who reports directly to the Railway Board. The zones are further divided into divisions under the control of Divisional Railway Managers (DRM). The divisional officers of engineering, mechanical, electrical, signal & telecommunication, accounts, personnel, operating, commercial and safety branches report to the respective Divisional Manager and are in charge of operation and maintenance of assets. Further down the hierarchy tree are the Station Masters who control individual stations and the train movement through the track territory under their stations' administration

|Sr. No. |Name |Abbr. |Headquarters |Date Established | |1. |Northern Railway |NR | Delhi |April 14, 1952 | |2. |Northeastern Railway |NER | Gorakhpur |1952 | |3. |Northeast-Frontier Railway |NFR | Maligaon(Guwahati) |1958 | |4. |Eastern Railway |ER | Kolkata |April, 1952 | |5. |South-Eastern Railway |SER | Kolkata |1955 | |6. |South-Central Railways...
Continue Reading

Please join StudyMode to read the full document

You May Also Find These Documents Helpful

  • Essay on Indian Railway
  • Indian Railways Essay
  • Indian Railways Analysis Research Paper
  • Indian Railways Essay
  • Indian Railways Essay
  • Essay on Indian Railway Problems
  • Role of Railways in Indian Economy Essay
  • Railways in india Essay

Become a StudyMode Member

Sign Up - It's Free