Icc World Cup 2011

Topics: Cricket, Cricket World Cup, International Cricket Council Pages: 6 (1906 words) Published: March 16, 2011
The 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup is the tenth Cricket World Cup and is being played in Bangladesh, India, and Sri Lanka. It is Bangladesh's first time co-hosting a World Cup. All matches in the World Cup will be accorded One Day International status, with all matches being played at 50 overs. Fourteen national cricket teams will compete in the tournament, including ten full members and four associate members.[1] The World Cup will take place between February and early April 2011, with the first match played on 19 February 2011 with co-hosts India and Bangladesh facing off at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur, Dhaka.[2] The opening ceremony was held on 17 February 2011 at Bangabandhu National Stadium, Dhaka, two days before the start of the tournament,[3] with the final on 2 April 2011 at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai. The World Cup was also supposed to be co-hosted by Pakistan, but in the wake of the 2009 attack on the Sri Lanka national cricket team in Lahore, the International Cricket Council (ICC) decided to strip Pakistan of its hosting rights.[4] The headquarters of the organising committee were originally situated in Lahore, but have now been shifted to Mumbai.[5] Pakistan was supposed to hold 14 matches, including one semi-final.[6] Eight of Pakistan's matches (including the semi-final) were awarded to India, four to Sri Lanka and two to Bangladesh.[7] The biggest upset of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 has been the defeat of England by Ireland. Ireland's Kevin O'Brien made 100 in just 50 balls (and a total of 113 off 63 balls), the fastest World Cup Century and Ireland made the highest successful run chase in World Cup history beating Sri Lanka's 313 against Zimbabwe at New Plymouth in New Zealand in 1992. Host selection

The ICC originally announced its decision which countries would host the 2011 World Cup on 30 April 2006. Australia and New Zealand also bid for the tournament, and a successful Australasian bid for the 2011 World Cup would have seen a 50–50 split in games, with the final still up for negotiation. The Trans–Tasman bid, Beyond Boundaries, was the only bid for 2011 delivered to ICC headquarters in Dubai ahead of the 1 March deadline. Considerable merits of the Australasian bid were the superior venues and infrastructure and the total support of both the New Zealand and Australian governments on tax and customs issues during the tournament, according to Cricket Australia chief executive James Sutherland.[9] The New Zealand government had also given assurance that Zimbabwe would be allowed to compete in the tournament, following political discussions in the country whether their cricket team should be allowed to tour Zimbabwe in 2005. ICC President Ehsan Mani said the extra time taken by the Asian block to hand over its bid compliance book had harmed the four-nation bid. However, when the time came to vote, Asia won the hosting rights by seven votes to three.[9] The Pakistan Cricket Board has revealed that it was the vote of the West Indies Cricket Board that swung the matter, as the Asian bid had the support of the four bidding countries along with South Africa and Zimbabwe.[10] It was reported in Pakistani newspaper Dawn that the Asian countries promised to hold fund-raising events for West Indian cricket during the 2007 World Cup, which may have influenced the vote.[11] However, chairman of the Monitoring Committee of the Asian bid, I. S. Bindra, said it was their promise of extra profits in the region of US$ 400 million that swung the vote,[12] that there "was no quid pro quo for their support",[13] and that playing the West Indies had "nothing to do with the World Cup bid".[13] ICC prefers to rotate World Cup venues between major cricket playing nations. The world cups have been hosted by England (Three times 1975,1979,1983), India/Pakistan 1987, Australia/New Zealand 1992, India/Pakistan/Sri Lanka 1996, England (UK,Netherlands) 1999, South Africa (Zimbabwe,Kenya) 2003, West Indies 2007....
Continue Reading

Please join StudyMode to read the full document

You May Also Find These Documents Helpful

  • The 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup Essay
  • Essay about Icc World Cup File
  • Essay on The Rugby World Cup 2011
  • World Cup Cricket 2011 Essay
  • Cricket World Cup 2011 Essay
  • Essay on Cricket World Cup
  • 2011 Cricket World Cup Final Essay
  • Essay on Rugby World Cup 2011 Tourism

Become a StudyMode Member

Sign Up - It's Free