Health Level 7

Topics: Electronic health record, Health care, Health informatics Pages: 40 (14048 words) Published: April 21, 2015
Health Level-7 International Standards
Table of Contents
Health Level-7 International Standards1
7 Sectioned Categories of HL7 Standards2
Section 1: Primary Standards3
Section 2: Foundational Standards4
Section 3: Clinical and Administrative Domains7
Section 4: EHR Profiles31
Section 5: Implementation Guides33
Section 6: Rules and References54
Section 7: Education & Awareness64
HL7 Version 3 Standard:72
HL7 EHR-S Functional Model72

Health Level International -7 (HL7) are internationally accepted standard for clinical and other medical data transfers. HL7 is an ANSI-accredited standards developing organization (SDO), is the global authority on standards for interoperability of health information technology. With members in more than 55 countries, HL7 is deeply involved in worldwide efforts to improve healthcare through information technology and is a founding member of the Joint Initiative Council, an international council on global health informatics standardization that is committed to developing a single standard for a single purpose. HL7 also has an agreement with the International Organization of Standardization (ISO) through which HL7 submits its ANSI-approved standards or draft standards for trial use (DSTUs) directly to ISO for approval1. HL7 does not develop software. It creates standards that allow healthcare information to be communicated across and between healthcare enterprises and communities. HL7 standards facilitate the exchange of clinical and administrative data among health information systems. Specifically, HL7 provides a comprehensive framework and related standards for the exchange, integration, sharing, and retrieval of electronic health information that supports clinical practice and the management, delivery, and evaluation of health services. HL7 encompasses the complete life cycle of a standards specification including the development, adoption, market recognition, utilization, and adherence.2. The HL7 standards are produced by the HL7, and are adopted by other standards issuing bodies as mention above. OSI standards can be found in detail at the International Telecommunications Union (ITU-T) cite as the X.200-series of recommendations3 The “7” in HL7 refers to the Open Systems Interconnect (OSI)4 model "layer 7". The seventh and highest layer in the OSI Reference Model is the application layer. Application protocols are defined at this layer, which implement specific user applications and other high-level functions. Since they are at the top of the stack, application protocols are the only ones that do not provide services to a higher layer; they make use of services provided by the layers shown here below.5 6

7 Sectioned Categories of HL7 Standards
HL7 standards are grouped canonically into these 7 categories7: Section 1: Primary Standards - Primary standards are considered the most popular standards integral for system integrations, inter-operability and compliance. Our most frequently used and in-demand standards are in this category. Section 2: Foundational Standards - Foundational standards define the fundamental tools and building blocks used to build the standards, and the technology infrastructure that implementers of HL7 standards must manage. Section 3: Clinical and Administrative Domains - Messaging and document standards for clinical specialties and groups are found in this section. These standards are usually implemented once primary standards for the organization are in place. Section 4: EHR Profiles - These standards provide functional models and profiles that enable the constructs for management of electronic health records. Section 5: Implementation Guides - This section is for implementation guides and/or support documents created to be used in conjunction with an existing standard. All documents in this section serve as supplemental material for a parent standard. Section 6: Rules and References - Technical specifications, programming...
Continue Reading

Please join StudyMode to read the full document

You May Also Find These Documents Helpful

  • Health Level 7 Essay
  • Mobile Health in Century Essay
  • Health level 7 Essay
  • health and social care level 3 Essay
  • UNIT 3 Health and social care Level 2 Essay
  • Level 3 Unit 1 Promote Communication in Health Essay
  • unit 7 p3 health and social care Essay
  • health and social care level 3 unit 2 Essay

Become a StudyMode Member

Sign Up - It's Free