Topics: Kübler-Ross model, Grief, Denial Pages: 4 (992 words) Published: June 29, 2014

“Healthy Grief”
HLT 310-V

Grieving is a natural part of life. Everyone grieves at some point in their lives, whether it’s the loss of a beloved 1st pet fish or a loss of a loved one’s life, everyone grieves differently and everyone requires different approaches during the grieving process. This paper will describe the various stages of grief and what to expect with each stage. This paper will also compare and contrast the grieving process as defined by Kubler-Ross, the story of Job while incorporating the Catholic religion. The interaction between joy and the Kubler-Ross model will also be described.

In the book of Job, Job is presented as a wealthy, righteous man living somewhere between 2000-1000 B.C. Job suddenly experiences the loss of his family, his possessions, and his health. Job relies on his friends to provide him with comfort. Each stage of grief according to Kubler-Ross is seen within the story of Job. The first stage, denial, is noticed when Job denies the severity of his medical condition. Job’s anger, which is the second stage of grief, is expressed in 7:11-15 “Therefore I will not keep silent; I will speak out in the anguish of my spirit, I will complain in the bitterness of my soul”. When Job had learned of the death of his 10 children, he tore his clothes and shaved his head in anger. The third stage of grief, which is also known as the bargaining stage, is expressed when Job starts to bargain with God in 9:33-34 “If only there were someone to arbitrate between us, to lay his hand upon us both, someone to remove God’s rod from me, so that his terror would frighten me no more”. Depression, which is the fourth stage of grief is apparent in 10:18 “Why then did you bring me out of the womb? I wish I had died before any eye saw me”. Job wishes that he had never have been born so he wouldn’t have to endure the grief and loss which he is experiencing. Acceptance, which is the final stage of grief, is reached after...
Continue Reading

Please join StudyMode to read the full document

You May Also Find These Documents Helpful

  • stages of grief Essay
  • Healthy Grief Essay
  • 5 Stages of Grief Essay
  • Counselling for Loss and Grief Essay
  • Essay about Process of Grief
  • Healthy Grief Essay
  • Dealing With Grief Essay
  • Healthy Grief Essay

Become a StudyMode Member

Sign Up - It's Free