Cricket World Cup

Topics: Cricket, Cricket World Cup, International Cricket Council Pages: 11 (2623 words) Published: April 21, 2013
Cricket World Cup is the biggest international event of cricket. The first Cricket World Cup was played during 1975 in England ( The first three matches were also recognized as Prudential Cup with the sponsorship of prudential plc, it is a pecuniary services company. Till the1992 Cricket World Cup, only 8 teams used to participate in the tournament. Later on, the number of teams increased and in Cricket World Cup2007, 16 teams had participated. But in 2011 Cricket World Cup 14 teams are participating.


Cricket is a sport that has been played around the world for more than eight centuries. It is one of the most well-loved and feverishly watched sports in the world. It involves two teams with 11 players on each side. The captain who wins the toss decides whether his team bats or bowls first. If they bat first, their aim is to score a lot of runs and make sure the other team does not reach that score. Cricket is played in many formats, but the most popular are Test cricket And One Day cricket. In Test cricket game goes on for 5 days, with each team batting twice - if time permits. One Day is the most popular format, with each team getting 300 balls to score runs. And the other team tries to outscore them within the same number of balls. One-day cricket originally began between English County teams in the 1960's. The first one-day international was played in Melbourne, Australia, in 1971, with the quadrennial Cricket World Cup began in 1975. The Cricket World Cup is organized by the sport's governing body, the International Cricket Council (ICC). The tournament is the world's fourth-largest and fourth-most-viewed sporting event.


The first attempt at any kind of world championship was in 1912, when a three-way series was arranged between the then current Test playing nations, Australia, England and South Africa. No similar events were held again until 1975. The first ICC World Cup (officially called the Prudential Cup) was in1975, hosted by England (see full list of host countries). This tournament included the six Test-playing nations (England, Australia, New Zealand, West Indies, India and Pakistan), who were joined by Sri Lanka and East Africa. Following the success of this tournament, it was repeated in 1979 and 1983 in England. After this, the tournament moved to be played in other countries, maintaining a four-year cycle. 60 overs were used for the first three world cups. This was reduced to 50 in 1987 and has been that way since. Women also participate in another Cricket World cup since 1975.

Cricket World Cup Hosting Nations

England, 1975

This was the first ever Cricket World Cup, officially called the Prudential Cup, and was held from June 7 to June 21, 1975 in England.

The tournament was held in England as it was considered the only nation at the time that had the resources to stage an event of such magnitude.

The matches played consisted of 60 overs per team.

Unlike today, all players wore a traditional white uniform and red balls were used. There were also no night games.

There were 8 participating countries:

o Australia
o England
o India
o New Zealand
o Pakistan
o West Indies
o Sri lanka
o East Africa (composed of players from Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda and Zambia)

The preliminary matches were played in 2 groups of 4 teams. The top two teams from each group played the semifinals, and the winners of these played the final.

The final was played at the Lords ground, between West Indies and Australia, with the favorites the West Indies winning by 17 runs. The West Indies scored 291 runs in 60 overs at a loss of 8 wickets. In reply Australia made 274 runs in 58.4 overs all out....
Continue Reading

Please join StudyMode to read the full document

You May Also Find These Documents Helpful

  • Icc World Cup 2011 Essay
  • World Cup 2011 Essay
  • Essay about Icc World Cup File
  • Analysis of Downfall of Pakistan Cricket- by Adnan Khalid Chemical Engr- Mba( Operations Management), Ibm-Uet, Lahore. Essay
  • Essay on Cricket History
  • Essay on India Winning the 2012 Cricket World Cup
  • World Cup History Essay
  • Essay about Present Situation of Bangladesh in Cricket.

Become a StudyMode Member

Sign Up - It's Free