Checkpoint: Stages of Ego Development

Topics: Developmental psychology, Loevinger's stages of ego development, Erik Erikson Pages: 2 (324 words) Published: July 31, 2010
Jane Loevinger’s theory of ego development is highly influential and is a compliment to Erikson’s theory psychosocial development. Loevinger proposed a theory that has implications for understanding the entire lifespan. The view of the ego is “the striving to master, to integrate, to makes sense of experience” (University of Phoenix, ). The basic process of selfhood (the sense of the ego or “I” as the active interpreter of experience) changes in important ways over the course of a human life (University of Phoenix). The model of ego development changes over time and earlier stages must be master before going on to the next stage. The movement from one stage to the next is complex and requires both internal maturation and external forces, which are in constant reciprocal interaction. There are eight stages of Loevinger’s ego development which are: * I-2 Impulsive- impulse control is impulsive, interpersonal mode is egocentric/dependent, and conscious preoccupation is bodily feelings. * Delta Self-protective- impulse control is opportunistic, interpersonal mode is manipulative/wary, and conscious preoccupation is trouble/control. * I-3 Conformists- impulse control is respect for rules, interpersonal mode is cooperative/loyal, and conscious preoccupation is appearances/behavior. * I-3/4 Conscience/Conformist- impulse control is exception allowable, interpersonal mode is helpful/self-aware, and conscious preoccupation is feelings/problems/adjustment. * I-4 Conscience- impulse control is self-evaluated standards/self-critical, interpersonal mode is intense/responsible, and conscious preoccupation is motives/traits/achievements, * I-4/5 Individualistic- impulse control is tolerant, interpersonal mode is mutual, and conscious preoccupation is individuality/development/roles. * I-5 Autonomous- impulse control is coping with conflict, interpersonal mode is interdependent, and conscious preoccupation is self-fulfillment/psychological causation....

References: University of Phoenix (Ed.). (). . [University of Phoenix Custom Edition e-Text]. : . Retrieved July 16, 2010, from PSYCH/230 THEORIES OF PERSONALITY: I THINK, THEREFORE WHO AM I?.
Continue Reading

Please join StudyMode to read the full document

You May Also Find These Documents Helpful

  • Stages of Ego Development Research Paper
  • 7 Stages of Development Essay
  • Week 8 Checkpoint Stages of Ego Development Essay
  • Essay about Stages of Ego Development
  • Stages of Ego Development Essay
  • stages of development Essay
  • Stages of Development Essay
  • Jane loevingers stages of ego development Essay

Become a StudyMode Member

Sign Up - It's Free