8 Stages of Psychosocial Dilemmas

Topics: Erik Erikson, Erikson's stages of psychosocial development, Developmental psychology Pages: 5 (1744 words) Published: January 12, 2012
In Dr. Eric Erikson’s 8 Stages of Psychosocial Dilemmas he stated that conflict between personal impulse and the social world. Erikson also believed that a sense of competence also motivates behaviors and actions. Each stage in Erikson’s theory is concerned with becoming competent in an area of life. If the stage is handled well, the person will feel a sense of mastery. Being able to master the dilemma during each stages of Erikson’s psychosocial development creates a sense of success and well development accomplishment. Being able to strive for a healthy growth and future endeavors in later stages. On the contrary if you are unable to fully develop in the early stages will make it harder to deal with later stages. Erikson’s 8 Stages of Psychosocial Development include stage one first year of life, stage two 1-3 years, stage three 3-5 years of age, stage four 6-12 years, stage five adolescence, stage six young adulthood, stage seven middle adulthood, and stage eight late adulthood.

In Dr. Erikson’s first stage of development it has to do with the first year of life. The trust or mistrust that a child develops from loved ones. Occurs between birth and one year of age and in my opinion is the most fundamental stage in life. It’s when a newborn baby is developing trust or mistrust with parents, siblings, and other family members. Failure to develop trust will result in fear and a belief that the world is inconsistent and unpredictable. A newborn needs the love and nurture from his mother when there first born. That loved demonstrated by family members towards the development of the baby will benefit in later stages of the child’s development. Take for example my own life as a baby I was told by my family that they show me all the love and tenderness during my first year. I was able to be humble and trustworthy with my aunts, uncles,

older siblings, and the rest of my family. Successfully developed trust, being able to feel safe and secure in the world. In Stage two of Erikson’s psychosocial development years 1-3 it consists autonomy versus shame and doubt. The second stage of Erikson's theory of psychosocial development takes place during early childhood and is focused on children developing a greater sense of personal control. The child is exploring the world by climbing, jumping, touching, observing, exploring, trying to discover himself/herself. Children who seem to be able to accomplish have a sense of success, while those who do not are left with a sense of inadequacy and self-doubt. In my own life while growing up I was given encouragement to express myself. The opportunity to be a kid without barriers to express myself, being able to express my thoughts through touching, observing, jumping on my mother’s couch. I remember a story that my brother told me one time. That we were sitting in the living room when I was around three I believe; I jumped from the couch to a couple of seat cushions. My brother had laid on the floor and under his supervision I jumped.

During stage three of Erikson’s psychosocial development three to five years is consider the initiative versus guilt. The child during this stage begins to assert their power and control over the world through directing play and other social interaction. Through playing the child begins to take initiative learns to make plans and carry out tasks. Caregivers who are discouraging or dismissive may cause children to feel ashamed of themselves and the child might

become overly dependent upon the help of others. In my opinion I see this to very real as parents seem very overprotective with their children. They seem to shelter the child to much a close example in my life would be one of my cousins. Her son Christopher seems to want attention and the opportunity to give him freedom and encouragement to play.

Industry versus inferiority is the fourth stage of Erik Erikson's psychosocial development. During the industry versus inferiority occurs between the...
Continue Reading

Please join StudyMode to read the full document

You May Also Find These Documents Helpful

  • Erik Erikson Psychosocial Stages Essay
  • Psychosexual stages vs. psychosocial stages Essay
  • 8 stages of development Erickson Essay
  • Erikson's Fifth Stage of Psychosocial Development Essay
  • Erikson's Stages of Psychosocial Development Essay
  • Essay about Psychosocial Stage of Development
  • Erickson's Eight Psychosocial Stages Essay
  • Erikson and Personal Psychosocial Stage Essay

Become a StudyMode Member

Sign Up - It's Free