5 Stages Of Grief

Topics: Kübler-Ross model, Grief, Acceptance Pages: 6 (1038 words) Published: May 17, 2015

Wolterstorff’s reflections in Lament For a Son

Carla Soto

Grand Canyon University: HLT-310V-0191 Spirituality In Healthcare

April 26, 2015

During the following paper, I will be analyzing in the book “Lament of a Son” by Nicholas Wolterstorff, where the author interprets his traumatic recollection of the death of his 25-year-old son on a climbing accident, and how he was able to appease his grief based on his faith in God. Consequently, I will be identifying the 5 stages of grief, how the author finds joy after his loss, the meaning of death in the light of the Christian narrative, and how the hope of resurrection play a role in comforting the author.

According to Elisabeth Kubler Ross, there 5 stages of normal grief: denial or isolation, anger, bargaining, depression and acceptance, that are associated with Mourning as a response of a painful event such as loss of a loved one, terminal illness or, end of a relationship. During the bereavement process, we experience the 5 stages of normal grief, which may not necessarily be in order, or for a specific length. (5 Stages of Loss and Grief,2015).For some that be have experience death, we know that we may not experience it the same way, There is people that can be very open with expressing their emotions, whether others may just not be able to express it at all, it is important to mention, regardless of the order to the stages of grief, hope will help us organize our thoughts and push to get through those unpleasant moments of sorrow.(5 stages of Grief). In the book Lament of a Son, the author expresses these heartbreaking 5 stages of grief. The Denial stage, the author looks for his son on a group of students that were passing by, or even in ballgames, he find himself looking for his son, but he is not there anymore. The author, also finds isolation after stating that he’s almost like an alien in the world. Reluctantly touching the world but feels as though it’s not his. (Wolterstorff, 1987). His anger,is expressed when he mentions, that there is a “hole in the world.” His son once was there, now it’s devoid of anything. Eric in his heart is irreplaceable and only an “emptiness is left.” He also talks about Eric with his unique perspective on life has been taken away and never returned. Questions in Wolterstorff’s mind that will never be answered because Eric is now deceased. Never to be sealed, an infinite abyss in his life due to the loss of son.(Wolterstorff, 1987). His bargaining is the result of his beliefs in God, the author asks himself why Eric had to climb the mountain alone. That he should have stayed on flat ground and why didn’t in all regards go with someone such as a friend. He then begins reading books on grief to answer questions that to get a better understanding on how to deal with the death of his son. In these books, God is mentioned. Correlating with bargaining which states the following, “secretly, we make a deal with God or our higher power in an attempt to postpone the inevitable.” Wolterstorff will not overlook the misery of Eric’s death but owes it to God. Furthermore, Wolterstorff remembers and mentions on his book the special dates, that typically bring joy and happiness, only bring him tears.He has many regrets; things that he may have should have done while Eric was alive. He mentions not taking him hiking, put work ahead instead of spending time with Eric, put off writing letters while Eric was overseas or off at school. He also mentions not giving Eric enough credit for many of his great achievements. The author finally finds acceptance, in his son’s death by the true nature of God’s Will. He states that nothing technology, or overcoming absent phone calls from the deceased can bring him acceptance. The truth of the matter is that, “Death is left for God’s overcoming.” I believe his faith in...

References: The 5 Stages of Loss and Grief. (n.d.). Retrieved April 26, 2015, from http://psychcentral.com/lib/the-5-stages-of-loss-and-grief/000617
Wolterstorff, N. (1987). Lament of a Son. In Lament for a son. Michigan, 49505, Grand Rapids: Wm. B Eearmans Publishing 2140 Oak Industrial Drive, N.E.
Retrieved from: https://viewer.gcu.edu/P8UMA8
Read and Study the Bible Online - Search, Find Verses. (n.d.). Retrieved April 28, 2015, from http://www.biblestudytools.com
Continue Reading

Please join StudyMode to read the full document

You May Also Find These Documents Helpful

  • 5 stages of grief Essay
  • 5 Stages of Grief Essay
  • 5 Stages of Grief Essay
  • 5 Stages of Grief Hamlet Essay
  • Stages of Grief Essay
  • Five Stages of Grief Research Paper
  • The Story of Job and the Five Stages of Grief Essay
  • Grief Essay

Become a StudyMode Member

Sign Up - It's Free