5 stages of grief

Topics: Grief, Kübler-Ross model, Acceptance Pages: 3 (886 words) Published: March 31, 2014
The 5 Stages Of Grief
Source: http://grief.com/the-five-stages-of-grief/, The Kübler-Ross Model, By Elizabeth Kübler-Ross, On Death and Dying, 1969.
The thesis of her article was that there are 5 stages a person goes through when dealing with some kind of loss or bereavement. Not everyone goes through each and every stage and neither does everyone go through a precise order . The five stages, denial, anger, bargaining, depression and acceptance were never meant to help secrete messy emotions into neat packages. Her article was based on her work with her terminally ill patients, seminars, interviews and also a lot of research. The overall pattern she took was from emotion to emotion. Referring to these emotions as stages. She explained each emotion or stage respectively. Elisabeth Kübler-Ross introduced the 5 stages of grief in her book On Death and Dying in 1969. The book was an interdisciplinary study of death and acceptance, then her book On Grief and Grieving involved the five stages with the process of grieving and fabricated a theory. The author organized her article by going from the very first most commonly shown emotion to the very last, although she stated that not every individual goes through these stages in a proclaimed order. The author used different kinds of scenarios to support her case. She used examples like, when a loved one dies, a bad breakup, losing a job, and so on. I would say that Dr. Kübler-Ross made a fine argument but I’d have to disagree with the last stage, which is acceptance. I think, for some people, instead of acceptance they go out to seek revenge. Some people can forgive and move on, while others grow a dark passion for payback during their own grieving process. So I would put my own thesis this way; There are stages people go through when they are dealing with some kind of loss. Everyone cant go through the same process and everyone cant have the same final stages. Some people will learn to accept while others seek for...
Continue Reading

Please join StudyMode to read the full document

You May Also Find These Documents Helpful

  • 5 Stages of Grief Essay
  • 5 Stages of Grief Essay
  • 5 Stages Of Grief Essay
  • Five Stages of Grief Research Paper
  • 5 Stages of Grief Hamlet Essay
  • Psychological Stages Of Grief Essay
  • The Five Stages of Grief Essay
  • Grief Essay

Become a StudyMode Member

Sign Up - It's Free