Kubler Ross

Topics: Grief, Kübler-Ross model, Emotion Pages: 2 (778 words) Published: March 25, 2014
The Kübler-Ross model is based on five stages of grief. These are five emotional stages that someone can experience when faced with death or some other loss. The five stages are Denial, Anger, Bargaining, Depression and Acceptance. Kübler-Ross noted that these stages are not meant to be a complete list of all possible emotions that could be felt, and they can occur in any order. Reactions to loss and grief are as different as each person experiencing them. We spend different lengths of time working through each step and express each stage more or less intensely. We often move between stages before achieving a more peaceful acceptance of death. Many of us do not achieve this final stage of grief. “Many people do not experience the stages in the order listed below, which is okay. The key to understanding the stages is not to feel like you must go through every one of them, in precise order. Instead, it’s more helpful to look at them as guides in the grieving process — it helps you understand and put into context where you are.”

Denial —One of the first reactions to follow a loss or news of an impending loss is Denial. What this means is that the person is trying to shut out the reality or magnitude of their situation. It is a defence mechanism that buffers the immediate shock. We block out the words and hide from the facts. This is a temporary response that carries us through the first wave of pain.

Anger — As the effects of denial begin to wear, reality and its pain re-emerge. We are not ready Because of anger, the person is very difficult to care for due to misplaced feelings of rage and envy. Anger can manifest itself in different ways. People can be angry with themselves, or with others, and especially those who are close to them. Anger may be directed at our dying or deceased loved one. Rationally, we know the person is not to be blamed. Emotionally, however, we may resent the person for causing us pain or for leaving us. We feel guilty...
Continue Reading

Please join StudyMode to read the full document

You May Also Find These Documents Helpful

  • Essay on Kubler Ross
  • "On Death and Dying" by Elisabeth Kubler-Ross Essay
  • Essay about The Kübler Ross Model: A Short Description and Personal Reflection
  • Betsy Ross Essay
  • John Ross and Andrew Jackson Essay
  • Euphoria: Glengarry Glen Ross Essay
  • Diana Ross Essay
  • Glengarry Glen Ross

Become a StudyMode Member

Sign Up - It's Free