T 20 Icc World Cup

Topics: Cricket, Twenty20, ICC World Twenty20 Pages: 4 (777 words) Published: October 30, 2012
The ICC World Twenty20 (also referred to as the ICC World T20 or the T20 World Cup) is the international championship of Twenty20 cricket. Organised by cricket's governing body, the International Cricket Council (ICC), the tournament consists of 12 teams, comprising all ten ICC full members and two other ICC members chosen through the ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier. The event is generally held every two years, and all matches are accorded Twenty20 International status. The inaugural event, the 2007 ICC World Twenty20, was staged in South Africa from 11–24 September 2007. The tournament was won by India, who became the first World T20 Champions after defeating Pakistan by 5 runs in the final at Johannesburg. The second event, the 2009 ICC World Twenty20 took place in England from 5–21 June 2009. This tournament was won by the previous runners-up Pakistan who defeated Sri Lanka by 8 wickets in the final at Lord's, London.[1] [2] The third tournament, the 2010 ICC World Twenty20 was held from 30 April–16 May 2010 and hosted by the West Indies. The winners were England who defeated Australia by 7 wickets in the final at Kensington Oval, Barbados. This was the first ever ICC tournament won by England. The fourth tournament, the 2012 ICC World Twenty20, was held from September 18 to October 7, 2012 and was hosted by Sri Lanka. The Winners were West Indies who defeated Sri Lanka by 36 runs, their first appearance in a world cricket final since 1983 and their first victory since 1979 Format

Rules and regulations
During the group stage and Super Eight, points are awarded to the teams as follows: ResultsPoints
Win2 points
No result1 point
Loss0 points
In case of a tie (that is, both teams scoring the same number of runs at the end of their respective innings), a Super Over would decide the winner. In the case of a tie occurring again in the Super Over, the match is won by the team that has scored the most sixes in their innings. This is applicable in all stages of...
Continue Reading

Please join StudyMode to read the full document

You May Also Find These Documents Helpful

  • Icc World Cup 2011 Essay
  • The 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup Essay
  • Essay about Icc World Cup File
  • World Cup 2011 Essay
  • Essay on Cricket World Cup
  • Pakistan Winning the 20-20 World Cup Essay
  • World Cup History Essay
  • Cricket World Cup 2011 Essay

Become a StudyMode Member

Sign Up - It's Free