Why the Us Does Not Have an Official Language

Only available on StudyMode
  • Topic: United States, United States Constitution, U.S. state
  • Pages : 2 (388 words )
  • Download(s) : 271
  • Published : October 21, 2012
Open Document
Text Preview
Kelly Setters
September 12, 2012
ENG 122
Teresa Plummer
English Composition 2
Why the United States doesn’t have a Designated Language

Why the United States doesn’t have a Designated Language
Why the United States does not have an official language has been an ongoing debate for a long time. A lot of people are for it and a lot of people are against it. While conducting my research I learned that if the United States made English the official language of the country it would be going against the first amendment, Freedom of speech. Regardless of going against the constitution 27 states have made English their official language. Why is it so important to so many people that the United States have an official language? Would it aid immigrants in the assimilation process and make it more likely for them to succeed? Can other languages be used in the country for certain official purposes, if English is the sole official language? Does official English offend the idea of American diversity? Does it discriminate against non-native speakers? Does an adequate incentive exist to learn English without it being official? Is there anything wrong with the status quo? Do most countries in the world have an official language? Is it important for any tangible and practical reasons? Do English only laws threaten or enhance public safety? Is official English good public policy? (Debate 2010) These are questions that rise in everyone’s mind when the topic of designating an official language in the US comes up.

The 27 states of the United States of America that have an official langiage are, “Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Virginia, Wyoming.” (Us constitution net 1995-2010) Many people think it’s unconstitutional for the United...
tracking img