Travel Essay

Only available on StudyMode
  • Download(s) : 1484
  • Published : March 24, 2012
Open Document
Text Preview
ILLINOIS
travel guide 2010

PLUS: presidential trails nightlife food, maps & more!
enjoyillinois.com

50PICKS
Top

ONLY IN

Illinois

ILLINOIS TRAVEL GUIDE
Illinois Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity, Bureau of Tourism James R. Thompson Center 100 West Randolph Street, Suite 3-400 Chicago, Illinois 60601 800/2CONNECT (226-6632) 312/814-4733, FAX: 312/814-6175 enjoyillinois@illinois.gov enjoyillinois.com GOVERNOR Pat Quinn DEPUTY DIRECTOR OF TOURISM

Jan Kostner
LOCAL TOURISM DIVISION MANAGER

Jan Kemmerling
MARKETING & ADVERTISING MANAGER

Lisa Link

Produced and published by Madden Media LLC 901 North Oak Park Avenue, Oak Park, Illinois 60302 708/386-6062 pubs@maddenmedia.com maddenmedia.com PUBLISHER John Hudak ASSOCIATE PUBLISHER

Pati Flannery (708/386-6062, pflannery@maddenmedia.com)
EDITORIAL DIRECTOR Jeff Atwell (800/444-8768, jatwell@maddenmedia.com) EDITOR AT LARGE Margaret Doyle EDITORIAL INTERNS Michael Colaianni, Megan Fuetterer, Alexa Miller, Brooke Stevenson CREATIVE DIRECTOR Don Scheer (800/444-8768, dscheer@maddenmedia.com) ART DIRECTOR Emily Rush DESIGN ASSOCIATE Andy Mosier DIRECTOR OF MANUFACTURING & PRODUCTION

Wendy Voorhees (800/444-8768, wvoorhees@maddenmedia.com)
ADVERTISING PROJECT MANAGER Adriane Cuaron (800/444-8768, acuaron@maddenmedia.com) ACCOUNT PROJECT COORDINATORS

THERE’S A GETAWAY FOR THAT.™
When you realize that your travel mug has become your heading-to-theoffice mug, it’s time for a getaway. That rare chance when you can trade lunch at your desk for a wine tasting in a vineyard. Make your way through a thousand-year-old forest instead of a thousand e-mails. Or take the kids somewhere other than soccer practice.

Leah Haney, Rebecca Velo
SENIOR ADVERTISING DESIGNER Tracy Martell ADVERTISING DESIGNER Ramon Armenta

Advertising Information
ACCOUNT MANAGER Pati Flannery (708/386-6062, pflannery@maddenmedia.com), MANAGING SALES COORDINATOR

Chris Callahan (800/444-8768, ccallahan@maddenmedia.com) Illinois Travel Guide © 2010. All rights reserved. Printed in U.S.A. Reproduction without permission is strictly prohibited. The information in the Illinois Travel Guide was compiled by the Illinois Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity, based on the materials submitted by Illinois’ Convention and Visitors Bureaus, Regional Tourism Development Offices and the Department of Natural Resources. The Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity has made every effort to ensure the information contained in the publication is correct. To ensure a safe and happy trip, please call ahead to verify or visit enjoyillinois.com for the most up-to-date information. Printed by the Authority of the State of Illinois. 12/2009 © The Magnificent Mile is a registered trademark of the GNMAA.

FIND YOUR GETAWAY MATCH AT ENJOYILLINOIS.COM

THE MAGNIFICENT MILE® IS A REGISTERED TRADEMARK OF GNMAA. © 2010 ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE AND ECONOMIC OPPORTUNITY, BUREAU OF TOURISM TTY: 1-800-406-6418

800/2CONNECT

Garden of the Gods Recreation Area, Harrisburg

ROBERT SHAW/PERCEPTIVE VISIONS

Navy Pier, Chicago

he 2010 Illinois Travel Guide provides you with all you need to know about what to see and do during your visit. Whether you prefer the bustling culture of the big city, the friendly hospitality of small-town America or the serene beauty of our natural wonders, Illinois is sure to please. In this year’s cover feature, take a regional tour of the state’s most popular attractions. In addition to our greatest hits, the 2010 Illinois Travel Guide dives into the regional cuisine and nightlife that define the Illinois experience. You know Chicago for its pizza and the world’s best hot dog, but wait until you discover Springfield’s horseshoe sandwich or the white pie at Burton’s Cafe in Whittington! 800/2CONNECT

T

ROBERT GARCIA

welcome to

ILLINOIS

And now more timely than ever— with Illinois producing a record fourth U.S....
tracking img