The Seven Continents on Earth

Only available on StudyMode
  • Download(s) : 183
  • Published : January 24, 2013
Open Document
Text Preview
The seven continents are the seven main land areas on the Earth. Some are joined to each other, and some are completely surrounded by water. Some continents have a lot of countries, but others have only a few. Erin Ate Nine Sticky Apricots At Aprils. If you can remember this mnemonic device called an acrostic then it is easy remember all Continents names as the first letter of each word corresponds with the first letter of a continent. These continents are: Europe, Asia, North America, South America, Australia, Antarctica, Africa! Interestingly the names of all the continents end with the same letter with which they start. It is believed that in past ,all continents were joined, this land area was called Pangaea .This area started to break up & got divided into 7 parts ,so today we have 7 continents .These continents are still moving away or moving close to each other. This is called continental drift or plate tectonics theory. For example Europe & North America are said to be moving 7 cm apart every year.

It is the largest continent .It covers one-third of earth’s surface. Also it is the biggest in terms of population in the world. Half of the world population lives here. World’s two most populous countries, China & India are in this continent. It has 30% of world land area & 60% of population

It is the birth place of great religions – Hinduism, Islam, Buddhism, Christianity It is also the place of great ancient civilizations- Chinese, Harrapan. It is the home of the 10 highest mountain peaks in the world. Mount Everest , the highest mountain in the world is here only .

It is the second largest continent.
It is also called Dark Continent as for long time not much was known about this continent due to its difficult inhabitable terrain. It is the home of the Nile ,the longest river in the world.
It is also the home of the Sahara, the largest desert...
tracking img