The Love Languages

Topics: Gift, Language, Emotion Pages: 2 (576 words) Published: May 14, 2011
The Love Languages
If you express love in a way your spouse doesn't understand, he or she may not realize you have expressed love at all. Therefore, there are ways to express your love and these expressions or acts are called languages. For instance, there are five basic languages of love, there is words of affirmation, quality time, gifts, acts of service and, not forgetting physical touch.

Words of Affirmation is a language that goes along the lines of appreciating your significant other. One way to express love emotionally is to use words to build up. Solomon, author of the ancient Hebrew wisdom literature, wrote, "The tounge has the power of life and death." Many couples have never learned the tremendous power of verbally affirming each other. Solomon further noted, "An anxious heart weighs a man down, but a kind words cheers him up." Verbal compliments, or words of appreciation, are powerful communicators of love. They are best expressed in simple, straight-forward statements of affirmation.

Like words of affirmation, the language of Quality Time has many dialects. A central aspect of quality time is togetherness. It does not mean proximity, togetherness has to do with focused attention. In addition to the basic love language of quality time, or giving your spouse your undivided attention, is another dialect called quality activities. Quality activities may include anything in which one or both of you have an interest. the emphasis is not on what you are doing but why you are doing it. The purpose is to experience something together, to walk away from it feeling all tingling inside. That is love, and for some people it is love's loudest voice.

Gifts are visual symbols of love. If your spouse's primary love language is receiving gifts, you can become a proficient gift giver. In fact, it is one of the easiest love languages to learn. There is an intangible gift that sometimes speaks more loudly than a gift that can be held in one's...
Continue Reading

Please join StudyMode to read the full document

You May Also Find These Documents Helpful

  • Love Languages Essay
  • Essay on Love and language
  • love Essay
  • The Assessment of Language Essay
  • The 5 Love Languages Essay
  • Language: Love and Marks Essay
  • The 5 Love Languages Essay
  • Love Me In My Language Essay

Become a StudyMode Member

Sign Up - It's Free