The Four Planes of Development

Topics: Psychology, Unconscious mind, Consciousness Pages: 2 (564 words) Published: March 27, 2013
“Development is a series of re-births. There comes a time when one psychic personality ends and another begins”……… “Our work as adults does not consist teaching, but in helping the infant mind in its work of development” (Dr Montessori, The Absorbent Mind, Chap 3)

What did Dr Montessori mean by the four planes of development? Describe each plane of development.
Explain how we use this knowledge about the child in the Montessori classroom, with the main focus at the age group of 0-6 years.

The life of the child that will become tomorrow’s adult is basically divided into four planes or stages. Each plane consists of a period of six years. Within these stages the development of the child is quite intense at the beginning, then it consolidates and finally trickles into the next. The first & third planes of development are periods of intense creation, whereas the second & fourth planes of development are the calm periods of consolidation. First plane of development (0-6years)

“Development is a series of re-births. There comes a time when one psychic personality ends and another begins. The first of these periods goes from birth to six years of age and the child’s mentality basically remains the same. It includes two sub-phases, from birth to three years and three to six years. In the first of these, the child has a type of mind that adults cannot exert upon to influence. In the second sub-phase (3-6years), they are still mentally the same but the child becomes susceptible to adult influence and their personality undergoes great changes.” (The Absorbent Mind, chapter 3, Pg 17). The first plane of development (0 – 6 years) is a period of intense creation. This period is of very great fundamental importance for the formation of the child or the foundation of the personality of the child. This is the period of transformation. This plane of development is further divided in to two sub phases, (0 – 3) and (3 – 6) years. The first sub...
Continue Reading

Please join StudyMode to read the full document

You May Also Find These Documents Helpful

  • The Planes of Development Essay
  • Essay about Planes of Development
  • Essay on Planes of Development
  • Four Planes of Development Essay
  • Montessori Philosophy: the Planes of Development Essay
  • Fou Planes of Development in Montessori Essay
  • four planes of development age 6 to 12 by Dr. Maria Montessori. Essay

Become a StudyMode Member

Sign Up - It's Free